WoW and a new G5

Discussion in 'Games' started by DJMad, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. DJMad macrumors newbie

    DJMad

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    So my laptop is not really cutting it anymore for games, so I am thinking of picking up a new g5 desktop before I finish school. I was just wondering how well wow will run on the new 2ghz g5 with 256vram and 1gig ram. currently I am on a 1ghz tibook and get max 10fps.

    I am also thinking of picking up a 20 or 23" display not sure yet.
     
  2. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #2
    Runs pretty well on my dual 2.0 G5. You should do well on your proposed setup.

    I generally get about:
    Indoors: 30-75 fps
    Outdoors: 20-35 fps
    Raids/busy IF: 7-20 fps

    My other specs:
    Dual 2.0 G5 PowerMac
    1.5 GB RAM
    Radeon 9600 Pro 64 MB
    1280x960 res.

    WoW graphics settings "mediumish":
    Low terrain settings
    High quality textures
    Shader effects
    Vertex shaders
    Trilinear filtering
    Vertical sync off

    Your GPU should do even better, however I would recommend at least 1 GB RAM for good WoW performance, and a hard drive RAID array wouldn't hurt, as WoW can get bogged down trying to load textures off disk (although it's better about that than it used to be in earlier versions).

    EDIT: I had written "dual 2.5" instead of "dual 2.0" ... wishful thinking I guess. :rolleyes:
     
  3. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
  4. Mr_Ed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    North and east of Mickeyland
    #4
    I thought the new ones were not shipping for a few weeks.
     
  5. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #5
    See my G5 in my sig. My FPS is:

    Indoors: 70 fps
    outdoors: 30 fps
    Raids:: 15-20 fps

    I run wow at 1280x1024 resolution, maxed out settings, with FSAA disabled.

    Note that I have the ATI 9600XT (128 mbytes VRAM, not 64)
     
  6. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #6
    I saw a new 17" at the Apple Store...
     
  7. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #7
    Im looking at the widescreen res, 1920 * 1200 on my PC is only 2FPS!
     
  8. DJMad thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJMad

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    this makes me excited that I will also be able to get these rates with the new 2ghz g5. It seems in benchmarks they are about the same. It will be a big help, since Iam just starting to run mc with a serious guild. In our rag fight lastnight I was pulling 1 frame every 5 sec so 15-20 is amazing to me. Not to mention on my laptop in the best spots I still dont get more then 15fps.
     
  9. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    The problem with the current Power Mac G5 PCIe machines is the video card options aren't very good for gaming, currently the AGP Power Mac is the best gaming Mac you can get. I have a Power Mac G5 Dual 1.8 GHz, 256 MB nVIDIA 6800 Ultra, 2 GB RAM, 20" ACD and I get 60 FPS inside, 50-60 FPS outside, and around 30 FPS in a place like Ogrimmar full of heaps of dudes, at 1680x1050 with everything on full (all effect turned on), except Terrain Distance and Environment Detail on Medium. I should note I have v-sync on so 60 FPS is as high as I'm going to get.
     
  10. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #10
    Why do you say that? The 6600 is a decent card, and now the two upper models actually get 256MB. Once the 7800 is BTO... so expensive though. :(
     
  11. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    Yeah once the 7800 becomes available, if it even does. Like I said currently the AGP Power Macs are better machines for gaming, look a the choices of cards 6800 GT, 6800 Ultra, X800 XT, X850 XT all of these are better than the 6600 in the PCIe Power Mac.
     
  12. Wild Ace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #12
    How do you find out how many fps you're playing with? Where do you go to find out? Sorry, I'm a noob.
     
  13. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    control + r
     
  14. Wild Ace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
  15. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    OK...it doesn't work for me. Is this for any Mac? (I have an iMac G5 Rev. B). Do I have to do that while playing a game, any game or does it have to be a certain one?
    I'm feeling kinda stupid. :eek:
     
  16. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #16
    That's just for WoW (although most 3D FPS-type games have a way to see it), but it works fine on both my Macs that have WoW loaded (an old Titanium PowerBook and a dual 2.0 G5). Are you sure you're pressing CONTROL-r and not Command-r or Option-r? If you are and it's not working, go into the WoW key bindings interface and look for that setting, I think it might be bindable and maybe it got cleared or set to something else somehow on your system.
     
  17. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #17
    Off-topic: just tried Edit Post and noticed a new interface for it that pops up an editing pane in situ instead of loading a separate editing window (and it's much faster that way), very spiffy MacRumors! :)
     
  18. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    Don't have WoW :( Is it any good? I haven't had a chance to play it.
     
  19. Hydra macrumors regular

    Hydra

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    I was worried my iBook wouldn't run it, but once I got my 10day free pass I was hooed. By far the best game ever made :)
     
  20. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #20
    It isn't called World of WarCRACK for nothing.
     
  21. lasuther macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Haven, Michigan
    #21

    It truely is the best game ever made. I can't stop playing. Play at your own risk.

    lasuther
     
  22. mus0r macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    #22
    I have a dual 1.8, 1GB, X800 setup with a 23" ACD...:D

    WoW is great on the big screen. In all honesty, I can't really see the difference in quality between the default and cranking everything up. :confused: Yeah, I can see a little farther into the distance, but that's all I notice.

    Now, Halo or Doom 3 is a different story; I can totally see the difference there. But in WoW...not so much.
     
  23. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #23
    Changing between the normal widescreen and top widesceen mode gives you a huge increase in qualiry - and a huge decrease in my frame rates.

    Reason why im buying/building a new PC soon.
     
  24. Melkor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #24
    How good do you think it would run on a powerbook with 2GB RAM and 7200 rpm drive? (im not sure if the drive makes a difference to the game performance, I know very little about computers)
     
  25. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #25
    Actually a fast HD does make a diffarence with WOW, and yours is a good speed.

    Lots of RAM always helps too.
     

Share This Page