WoW and Addons

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Smalss, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #1
    Tried to install some addons for WoW. Downloaded the .zips from curse (or whatever its called) and unzipped them into my applications/wow/interface/addon/ folder. But nothing comes up. I restarted the laptop, still nothing. What am I doing wrong?

    Thnx.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #2
    Some addons you have to put the file contents in the addon folder. Requires more than just unzipping them into the addons folder, and you never need to restart to install a WoW addon.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    cerote

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #3
    I have always just used the Curse program and let it do the installs.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #4
    Unzip it to your desktop and then manually move the subfolder (the main folder you unzipped contains the addon in a subfolder).
     
  5. macrumors G3

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #5
    I always did the manual install too.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #6
    Let's step back a moment.

    After putting the addon files into the correct folder, you need to enable the add-ons (on your character selection screen, after logging in) for them to load. They will not automatically load (I don't think, anyway).
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #7
    Hit your addon button on your character screen, check the button "use outdated addons".
     
  8. macrumors 601

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #8
    Good point since most are outdated...
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    Agreed. Also, go grab WowMatrix, still works with some of the more major mods (Auctioneer, DBM, etc)

    http://www.wowmatrix.com/
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #11
    Use the curse client instead. It's the same people who built wowmatrix anyway.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #12
    There's no Mac version though, is there?
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #13
    There's been a Mac Curse client for quite some time now actually.
     

Share This Page