wow! expose continues to amaze me!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hob, Nov 9, 2004.

  1. hob macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    hey just realised something!!

    press f10, right...

    then press... TAB!

    WOW!

    Hob
     
  2. dotnina macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    #2
    Wow ... and I thought I'd seen all the Expose tricks already!

    That's kinda cool!
     
  3. hob thread starter macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I know!! now I can use expose completely without my mouse - something I'd not really explored before - try using cursor keys and enter... you can browse round real fast!

    Shame they don't publicise these things (unless I just missed em)

    Hob
     
  4. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Wow! I've never noticed this trick either! That's quite useful. Thanks!
     
  5. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    What is this "trick" with expose you speak of? I can't try it out right now because I'm on a PC right now :mad: :rolleyes: And I don't wanna wait till I get home! :D :p
     
  6. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Just activate "windows of current app" expose by hitting F10 and then click the tab key to alternate between all your current apps while still in F10 expose mode.

    So if you have 1 Safari window and 2 iChat windows open, for example, you'll F10 while on iChat and get the two exposed windows, then press tab for it to jump to the Safari window being exposed. You get a neat little zoom effect when the app only has one open window too.
     
  7. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #7
    Didn't Steve mention this at WWDC 2003? :confused:

    I guess we all forgot about it :D
     
  8. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #9
    Some of us need a reminder of the "power" of the Mac.

    I like being told (reminded) of this "trick".
     
  9. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #10
    Thanks! Can't wait to get home and try it out! :D
     
  10. logicat2001 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #11
    This will work whenever you're looking at either "All Windows" or "Application's Windows" via Exposé.

    You can also just hit the back-tick/tilde key to view each single application's windows, in turn.

    Best,
    Logicat
     
  11. fradac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    i wonder if you guys know this,

    if you hold shift down when you hit the expose Keys everything goes in slow motion

    i wonder if it would happen even with TAB(after F10) hmm... going to go try that
     
  12. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #13
    *cries* stupid panther, I want you on my Wallstreet. I want a new laptop just for that reason.
     
  13. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #14
    I actually just found that out yesturday! :D
     
  14. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #15
    Funny, this works if I press F9 or F10 :confused:

    Cool trick either way!
     
  15. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #16
    Doesn't F9 hide all windows? *wishes he had Panther*
     
  16. krhodus macrumors member

    krhodus

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Location:
    Dublin, OH
    #17
    The shift trick does work when hitting tab. It does this trick in slow motion.

    Kevin
     
  17. hob thread starter macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    I was trying to get it to work earlier - but I guess I was being stupid, cos I got it to do it now... unless stuff only starts to work if you write it on a forum...

    What's that? If you press cmd+shift+eject you get an ipod coming out of your cd drive? You're joking, right? :eek:
     
  18. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #20
    Nope that is F11!

    This is a cool little trick - that I had forgotten about!
    And yeah I use F9 alot more then F10!
     
  19. broken_keyboard macrumors 65816

    broken_keyboard

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Secret Moon base
    #21
    And next year we will have F12 = Dashboard.
    Expose for Widgets!
     
  20. paxtonandrew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    I Come From A Land Down Under
    #22
    I like where Konfabulator's Konsposé's command is. I will set dashboard to F8, because F12 is used from Print Screen off my Windoze days. I woonder how many other 'Easter Eggs' are inside Mac OsX?
     
  21. BWhaler macrumors 68020

    BWhaler

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    #23
    Very cool. Apple rocks. No question about it.
     
  22. hob thread starter macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #24
    so did noone know about this? I feel quite proud of myself!!

    Hob
     
  23. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #25
    Holding down shift while hitting F9, F10, or F11 does the exposé tricks in slo-mo.

    But if you hit shift while hitting tab, it cycles backwards through the windows by order of apps (just like command+shift+tab).

    Either way, I didn't know about using tab with F9 or F10. Very cool! :cool:
     

Share This Page