WoW on MacPro with 7300GT

Discussion in 'Games' started by Chrispy, Oct 9, 2006.

  1. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #1
    Hey all. I searched around but could not find a definitive answer on this. Does anyone here run WoW on their MacPro with the base graphics card? I usually run it in windowed mode at 1280 x 960 on a 20" widescreen monitor. Running on a Core 2 Duo 2.4 with a 7600GS I get the maxed out (in windows) 60FPS almost all the time with these settings. I was just wondering if the MacPro would be comparable even though the graphics card is weaker? Thanks for the help all!

    Also, is stepping down to the 2GHz really going to hurt performance a great deal? You can get the 2GHz system with smaller HDD for $1999 on macconnection so I was wondering. Thanks!
     
  2. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #2
    I would say that the 2Ghz CPU won't struggle with WoW - but a 7600GS has a significant performance advantage over the 7300GT, so frame rates will probably drop somewhat.

    If you are serious about gaming, I recommend getting the X1900XT from Apple - it isn't cheap but it's a great card. Hopefully soon it will be possible to flash a PC Radeon X1900XT to the Mac (It's been done by a handful of people, but the modded ROM is not yet publicly available), but that isn't a flash for beginners.

    It would be nice if Apple offered a 7600GT kit as a cheaper alternative to the X1900XT.
     
  3. patseguin macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #3
    I ran WoW with the stock 7300 for a while before the x1900 came out. It ran really well. Alot faster than my x800XT on my Powermac G5. The x1900 is way better, but if I were on a budget, I would have no gripes about running WoW on the 7300.
     
  4. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #4
    Patseguin, do you recall the FPS you were getting and at what resolution?
     
  5. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #5
    I'm actually pretty impressed with the 7300GT's performance. It is a better base card than the 5200 was in its day...

    Still, the 7600 is a big improvement and not that expensive. The X1900XT is fantastic but big bucks. At least they sell the iMac with the 7600...
     
  6. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #6
    I don't mean to be a nag here, but does anyone have actual FPS numbers from WoW on a MacPro with the 7300? I would really appreciate it!
     
  7. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #7
    As far as I know barefeats hasn't benchmarked the Mac Pro on WoW, but based on the fact that the Quad 2.5GHz G5 (with a GeForce 6600 @ 1680x1050) was hitting 40FPS, I would expect similar or possibly superior performance from a dual 2.66 Mac Pro with the 7300GT...but don't quote me on that. 60FPS might not be obtainable with a 7300GT, but the CPU should be up to the task...even the 2.0GHz might be able to hit 60FPS with the X1900XT.
     
  8. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #8
    Mods, would it be possible to move this to the MacPro thread?
     
  9. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
  10. Ringo macrumors regular

    Ringo

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Location:
    Quebec
    #10
    Hello, I just tryed WoW the way you stated (windowed mode in 1280x960 or something) and everything maxed out. Every ran at about 30-35+ fps (and going to bout 70 for peak) at most time. I currently a Mac Pro with the 2.6Ghx 2gig of ram and the stock GPU. The CPU usage did not exceded 70% of a possible 400% of the 4 cpu and WoW took about 512Mb of ram.

    In short it's should run smooth on the rig you mentionned. Oh and I was running Safari in the background witch was running an audio stream.

    And Btw the Mac Pro is really a great computer. Really silent, really cool.

    (sorry for the bad english... it's late and it's not my mother tongue)
     

Share This Page