Wow that's a lot of cache on my PB! Or is it???

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by obelix, Oct 20, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    #1
    Well I was feeling in a nerdy mood this morning and looked up the model number for my hardrive on my brand new powerbook...

    TOSHIBA MK8026GAX
    http://www.toshiba-europe.com/storage/Index.asp?page=PFT&nav=ISH_PRS

    And found this out...

    Buffer size
    16,384kByte

    Now according to trusty google calculations...
    16 384 kilobytes = 16 megabyte

    A hardrive with 16mb of cache??? Is that right? Surely they must mean kilobit?
    16 384 kilobit = 2 megabyte

    I really do hope that it is in fact 16Mb but for some odd reason that just doesn't seem likely.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    isnt a byte a bit? or am i talking rubbish? i'm sure it will be 2mg.

    on another note have u tried pressign the little silver thing on your battery near to the release thing? i'm sure you will be impressed! i was!
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    #3
    It sure looks like it's 16MB.

    Pretty sweet, if so, and good find.



    -jeff
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    Yes, it's 16 Megabytes.

    You're right, it's 16MB (MegaBYTE.) That size cache came first to notebook drives, where anything that makes the drive seek less is a good thing. (And it's cheaper/easier than increasing the spindle speed.)
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    A byte is 8 bits.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    #6
    WOW!!! I HAVE A 16MB CACHE HD!!! Woooo Hooooo!

    That $50 I paid for the upgrade on the Canadian Apple Store was really worth it. Yay Apple!
     

Share This Page