Wow! what a difference more RAM makes!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sikkinixx, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    I just put a gig into my 12" pb to max it out at 1.25GB and WOW! a huge performance jump! I doubted people on here who said it was a big jump because my more ram to my PC certainly helped, but it wasn't that noticable. With the pb though, everything just runs smoother and bootup is almost half of what it used to be! :cool: anyway just thought i would share, go buy more if you dont have enough!!
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    I just added a gig to my 15" PB today as well, to boost it from 1 to 1.5. I've also noticed a sizable gain in speed. I wish I'd done it sooner! It might be awhile before I max out at 2GB, though, I'll have to monitor my usage. So far I'm up to 9 programs simultaneously with no pageouts, so I'm happy. :D
     
  3. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I think RAM is more important than CPU speed. I never buy a Mac with less than twice the RAM it normally ships with, sometimes 3x instead, and I never think twice about that expense. It always pays off.
     
  4. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    When I first got my iMac G5 from the Apple Store, it only had the original 512MB in it. The moment I tried to do more than one thing at a time it slowed to a crawl, and widgets were just useless RAMhogs. I've now got 1.5GB in there and the difference is enormous. It really shows how fast the G5 is.
     
  5. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    I'm with Doctor Q: it always pays off. When I got my iMac in 2001, I had a gig of RAM in there, which, for that time, was a ton. Happily, it still does pretty well today. I have 3 gigs in my Power Mac, which is probably more than is (usually) useful right now, but will be pretty "standard" not too long from now.
     
  6. Malfoy macrumors 6502a

    Malfoy

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #6
    A gig of ram boosted you from 1 to 1.5 eh? That rocks. :p :D I'm with you though, Ram increases do rock. Bought the MBP with 512, tried emulating windows with Parallels and it laughed at me. Upgraded to 2 gbs of ram, and well I laugh at it. :cool:
     
  7. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #7
    It certainly did, since I removed the 512MB from the bottom slot and popped in 1GB. I'll be selling off/giving away the extra one to my sister anyways. Totally worth it.
     
  8. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Holy crap, that's funny, I just added a gig stick to my ibook, replacing a 512. More RAM always makes a difference with Macs and, in my experience, seldom with PCs (I have a tower that went from 512 to 1.5g and I notice zero improvement)...

    The oddest thing is that every ibook spec I came across said that my ibook (one with a soldered 128 chip) couldn't take more than 684. I found a good rate and figured I'd give it a shot, since I could always sell it on ebay if it didn't work, and presto! Super fast ibook. :)
     
  9. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Yes it does, I have a Gig of ram on my MacBook and look at what it can do!

    All those files and movies and even photobooth running in real time! Ahh I love technology..

    Edit: Image was extremley huge...
    Basically adding more ram is awsome man. Apple Comptuers love ram and do great things with it. Add a little bit of ram every time you feel a need for speed and your set :). Thats why I didn't max out my MBP ;) Yet... :)

    Gotta love Ram and a good processer!
     
  10. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #10
    You guys are making me jealous.

    I'm saving up for an extra 1gb, but its gonna be a while before i can afford it.
    (Lotsa other expenses chewing up my hard earned cash).
     
  11. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    I'd check ramseeker, it may be more affordable than you think. ;)
     
  12. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #12
    I also love graphics cards :D
     
  13. paddy macrumors 6502a

    paddy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #13
    I'm chugging away painfully slow on 256 RAM on a G4 iMac running 10.4.2. Ughhhhhh :(.
     
  14. superkatalog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    switzerland
    #14
    this was funny :)
     
  15. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #15
    Haven't you learnt anything by now? Go open your wallet now.
     
  16. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #16
    how many page outs are too many page outs???

    my girlfriends mbp always has none!!!

    problem is, i'll probably get a mbp in a few months and give my pb to someone in the family, would it be worth upgrading RAM for just a few months?
     
  17. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #17
    Go buy Ram

    I love this guy. He has a point. Listen to what ppl are saying. I wouldn't run OS X with less than 1GB of RAM. I'm running 2.5GB on my PM, made sure my little bro got 1GB from Apple with his Core Duo Mini - shared graphics? more Ram please.

    F
     
  18. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #18
    I'd ask CanadaRAM, I think he's the expert around here. If you reboot, run your 'normal' number of apps, and after 15-20 minutes your pageout count is above ~100,000 I'd say you definitely need more RAM.
     
  19. djdarlek macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    #19
    Just my input

    I bought a G5 dual 2 Ghz about a year or so ago, and skimped on the ram a bit. 512 meg, it'll do for now I thought. But alas, it was barely even usuable. Fresh OS install etc and still could only run Mail and Safari and iTunes without it all coming to a screaming hault. 2 gig o' Ram later and it's a dream machine.

    DO NOT EVER USE A MAC WITHOUT AT LEAST A GIG!
     
  20. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #20
    see i don't quite get this, my mac can do a lot more than safari and itunes before its getting bogged down, and i only have a powerbook G4 with 512 RAM
     
  21. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #21
    Yeah, me too.
    My pbook is not blazingly fast, but I expect that from a laptop.
    I can run a number of apps without any real problem.
    Sure certain apps a slow to do things, but it never comes to a grinding halt.
     
  22. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #22
    Try Motion :D Even 2 gigs won't be enough for this beast!
     
  23. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #23
    Sure, and also your family will love you more.

    If nomey is tight, though, and the person you're giving it too can afford to buy it more easily, then no. Especially if it's already doing what you need it to.
     
  24. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #24
    You can run panther with 256. My big bro's ibook has 1.07 GHz G4 and 256 MB DDR RAM (4.200 rpm. drive is also usually making mac's slow, look at the ppc macmini). He runs fine on 10.3.9. I also have a 2.4 GHz Celeron D, 256 MB RAM (not ddr), 4.200 rpm. drive, 16 MB Intel Shared Graphics, and i can play Halo smoothly (on optimal graphics). You can push out much more than you think, but when i get my mb/mbp, i will at least go for 1 GB. Perhaps 1.5.;) Remember: RAM is how much stuff you do at a time, processor is how fast you do it.
     
  25. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25

    Essentially, yes. But in modern computing machines are doing several different things at once (especially on G4s and G5s), so more RAM=faster.
     

Share This Page