WPA Pass not accepted, can't connect to access point

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by idkew, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #1
    I have a D-Link router that I want to use WPA2 encryption with.


    It is setup correctly, as a PC can connect to it sucessfully. I am obviously using WPA-PSK with WPA & WPA2. TKIP and AES cipher. 11 digit ASCII key.

    The problem is that my 1.33 Ghz 17" powerbook can not connect. I get an error on connect every time. Same with WPA. It seems that the password is not being sent correctly to the router.

    Is there some trick I am missing to get the password correct?

    FWIW- I can connect when there is no security.
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    have you tried entering the HEX equivalent instead of the WEP password itself? for my Linksys router thats what i have to do for some reason.
     
  4. idkew thread starter macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #4

    i will try that.


    btw- here is a screen shot of my settings:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. idkew thread starter macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #5
  6. iTwitch macrumors 6502a

    iTwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    East of the Mississippi
  7. idkew thread starter macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #7
    yes, no luck either.


    besides, i want wpa2. more security = better

    (as long as it works...)
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Does this article help? I'm assuming your PowerBook is completely up-to-date too, right? :)
     

Share This Page