wpa-psk and wireless macbook pro -help please

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gokhan, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. Gokhan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #1
    hi guys

    i have a freinds macbook pro that will not connect to my wireless
    (d-link 900ap+)

    The problem first of all is the machine (macbook pro) would not not even see the router ,so i turned on ssid and now its can see the network but as its wpa-spk protected it will not connect even though i enter the correct password

    i have updated the airport software but still no go

    it just says airport couldnt connect and to try again or press ok

    any ideas this is driving me nuts :eek:

    please :confused:

    p.s my powerbook g4 connects fine even with ssid turned off !!! :rolleyes:
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2

    unplug the routers power for 30 seconds. this will cause the router to drop all connection and give all your machine time to reset their stuff as well.
     
  3. Gokhan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #3
    ah

    yeah i tried that soooo many times this works flawlessly with other laptops but this damn macbook pro wont budge ill try lowering the security on the router to plain wpa !!
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4

    you try updating the firmware on your router. in my experience d-link are less tempermental than linksys with the macs. I never had a problem with WPA, wep, and wep 128 on a dlink. I've never gotten anything else to work normally all the time. I have had better success getting consist results with my airport express.
     
  5. Gokhan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #5
    k

    it has the latest firmare so im guessing the problem is from the macbook pro end but ill have a look in to that thanks
     
  6. vinylator macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    #6
    Try if you can connect if there is no security (eg 'no password).
    I have an older linksys router and can't connect any mac if there is any security. But I have found a workaround.

    Try adding the dollar sign in front of you password, like: $yourpwd
     
  7. Gokhan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #7
    k

    tried the $ sign in front of password still no go but i have seen that this is a wide problem on the intel machines so i am gonna have to wait for apple to offer a fix ?

    if and when i dont know
     
  8. bcavanau macrumors member

    bcavanau

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Troy, MI
    #8
    I have my Macbook Pro (C2D) connected to my Buffalo Tech router using WPA-PSK. I am using a full 63bit randomly generated password as well...no issues at all.

    So It would seem to be some compatibility issue between your 2 specific devices.
     
  9. Gokhan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #9
    hmm could be

    hmm could be although i aint gonna need wifi a lot so its no biggie but i would just like to verify this things airport works so i might try connecting with no security at all

    thanks

    furthermore my router works fine with all other laptops tested
     

Share This Page