Writing and Compatiblitiy

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by longey, Feb 16, 2006.

1. longey macrumors newbie

hey,
    i switched bout 2 months go really happy,
    anyways i want to start writing again , just things bout my life and feelings, i want to use mac but i want to be able to burn them on to a cd or flash drive and still be compatible with pc word formats,

does apple works do it so the file will word on ms wordpad on pc???
    or anther program i could use it dont have to be fancy just to type and be pc compatible save file???

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

Text Edit can read and write plain text, rtf and even .doc files that are totally Windows compatable. It's built in!

3. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

It you want to spend money, Microsoft Word 2004 is most compatible version of the Microsoft word processor on any platform.

4. Abulia macrumors 68000

Abulia

Seconded.

I am also a writer (follow my blog link for credits) and I've had, to date, 100% compatability between MS Word 2004 on the Mac and my PC at work.

The interface is a bit different to get used to, but the functionality is the same, if not better.

If MS Word is outside of your price range I'm afraid I can't help you much.

5. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

calebjohnston

I would highly recommend purchasing office : mac 2004 if you are serious about writing/editing pieces on your mac. It's flawlessy compatible with a Windows computer, and the interface is really cool. Much better than Windows'.

6. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

Macky-Mac

well, MOSTLY flawlessly compatible anyway........at work we get text sent to us from consultants who are windows Word users and it's not uncommon to find little formatting issues that dont translate perfectly......and I hear that it sometimes happens when we send them documents

whenever formatting and layout is really critical we make pdf files and send those around instead of .doc files