Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tunster

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 28, 2009
Hi PowerPC Users!

I've got quite an important question regarding PowerPC software available for iBooks. i'll be an owner of an iBook G3 Clamshell very soon and will be doing my best to keep in as good condition but give it some use.

Although I'll have some internet/networking via the Airport card, it's use there will be limited from what I read. So I want to do writing (of scripts or pieces for my new podcast). What are good PowerPC writing apps compatible with Panther? Especially anything that is markdown based (I'm a sys-engineer by trade). I'd be happy to use the Apple text-editors, but I might want something a little more sophisticated.

chibiterasu

macrumors 6502
Apr 5, 2012
London, The United Kingdom
Hi PowerPC Users!

I've got quite an important question regarding PowerPC software available for iBooks. i'll be an owner of an iBook G3 Clamshell very soon and will be doing my best to keep in as good condition but give it some use.

Although I'll have some internet/networking via the Airport card, it's use there will be limited from what I read. So I want to do writing (of scripts or pieces for my new podcast). What are good PowerPC writing apps compatible with Panther? Especially anything that is markdown based (I'm a sys-engineer by trade). I'd be happy to use the Apple text-editors, but I might want something a little more sophisticated.

I would say office 2004 which needs a G3 and 10.2.8 which would probably be the most full featured although it may run a little slow on a Clamshell. You could also try AppleWorks 6 which would have more features than textedit and probably run faster than word '04.

Edit: There is also a markdown editor called nvALT and the older version (I think 2.0) supports PowerPC but I don't know anything about it.

Last edited:

Hrududu

macrumors 68020
Jul 25, 2008