www - microsoft?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Redboy, Mar 25, 2004.

  1. Redboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    #1
  2. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    For some reason when I do that in Safari it takes me to a page where my Router/DSL Modem yells at me about the page being denied access...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. MatMistake macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    #3
    I end up with www.www.com if I do that
    and thats using opera 7.23 for windows
     
  4. ExoticFish macrumors 6502a

    ExoticFish

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
    #4
    weird, when i go there from work with safari i go to my works website
     
  5. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #5
    Do you have search domains setup in your IP config?

    Go to Terminal or 'cmd' if you're on Windows, and do:

    nslookup www
     
  6. Sparky's macrumors 6502a

    Sparky's

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    #6
    I have Road Runner and use Safari so guess where I get taken to....
     
  7. MarkCollette macrumors 68000

    MarkCollette

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #7
    Basically, www is not a valid top level domain (TLD), so the DNS that your ISP provides you have made a local host entry to make www resolve to www.microsoft.com. Usually this is done with a CNAME record.

    This is the same mechanism that allows ISPs to tell you to just put "mail" as your mail server, instead of "mail.isp.com". I'm just surprised that www doesn't go to their own web site, as is the usual.
     
  8. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #8
    You can set your own defaults (in OS X or Linux) by manually editing /etc/resolv.conf. In my case, I like to be able to connect to machines on our department's domain (ee.washington.edu) or the university's domain (u.washington.edu) without typing a fully qualified domain name. So I've manually created the following file:

    Code:
    $ cat /etc/resolv.conf
    search ee.washington.edu u.washington.edu
    nameserver 128.95.120.1
    nameserver 128.95.196.1
    nameserver 192.168.0.1
    
    A lot of my work involves ssh'ing into machines, but this affects any sort of internet connection (Web, FTP, etc.).

    Note that by default this file gets filled in with values picked up from your ISP's DHCP server, as was already mentioned.
     
  9. ingenious macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #9
    i get nothing.

    i get nothing, but of course, why should i? In this part of the US, all there is are mom and pop ISPs who are down all of the time and dont know what they are doing.... :D
     
  10. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #10
    In Safari, I get www.www.com, even though I too have an access denied page by my isp. Weird.
    –Chase
     
  11. glosterseagul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    #11
    Safari can’t open the page “http://www/” because it can’t find the server “www”.
     
  12. cosman2001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
  13. crapday macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004

Share This Page