OS X X-Plane Demo wont launch 64 bit -crashes on 2012 imac.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Red Fuji, May 15, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #1
    I have a 2012 imac with 8 G RAM(for now) . Before I start loading - RAM is at ~6.7 G. And during the load it depletes it down to the Mega Byte level then immediately crashes(3rd way into the load.) X-Plane requirement states 2 G minimum and 4 recommended (probably 32 bit ver spec) I know 64 bit is a RAM hog but it is indiscriminately sucking up RAM like mad.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    64bit isn't a RAM hog, it's simply able to address more RAM than a 32bit OS.

    Is this Apple RAM or third party? Are you running bootcamp drivers or did you try to add third party video drivers?
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    I ran it under 16GB on my 2011 27" and now 32GB on my new 2012...2GB GPU in both cases. I'd hazard a guess that you are going to have to turn down the settings. As a test, disable HDR rendering first, and set other options to minimum...then gradually work your way up until you reach the crash point.

    If the game still won't run, then a re-install ( I know, it's a pain) and an email to Austin with a crash dump will help. More info in my thread here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1483739
     
  4. Red Fuji, May 15, 2013
    Last edited: May 15, 2013

    thread starter macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #4
    Do not i need to launch/run it first in order to turn down the settings? i am new to X-plane but so far love what i see (32 bit does load fine but i wish to see what 64 looks like) and yes i sent off the crash report.

    oh-to address blueroom:
    yes-Apple RAM(min RAM that comes w/ 2012 3.4Ghz 27" imac)
    no Windows installed.
    no 3rd party - GTX680MX 2GB
    Thanks.
     
  5. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    It's odd that the 32 bit version runs and the 64 won't...It was always the other way around before as you can read from the posts in my link. I can't see what could be stopping the 64 bit version from loading apart from a corrupt file someplace....The 32 bit version was the crash laden one. If it were me I would delete the lot and start afresh....It's tedious, but will at least eliminate the corruption idea.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #6
    i'll give it a try tonight. but i am watching load as it sucks up all the RAM then crash.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #7
    no luck with the re-install; still cant get 64 bit to launch. X-plane CS responded- they will look into the crash report.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Location:
    Cedar Hills, Utah
    #8
    Hmmm sounds like an interesting problem. It's definitely not the 64x OS that is killing your RAM though. I wouldn't be so convinced all at once.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #9
    I tried launching it last night and it took off-loads faster than 32 bit. I dont have any explanation as to why it wasnt launching before-was too busy playing X-plane with no time for fish bone root cause analysis:)
    i dont know if sending the crash report helped with the fix? but i am happy.
    now i need to look into a controler -yoke or stick-extra money for the Eclipse=wife lecture. hmmm. decisions.
     

Share This Page