X-Plane on a 1.33ghz Powerbook

Discussion in 'Games' started by jknight8907, Jun 22, 2004.

  1. jknight8907 macrumors 6502a

    jknight8907

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY
    #1
    Has anyone had any experience with using X-Plane v6 or 7 on a 12" 1.33ghz Powerbook?

    Thanks
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    XPlane v7 should do very well on it.

    All the 1.33 GHz PowerBooks have decent grfx cards, and the CPU is fast enough. It doesn't need the horsepower of a G5, nor a "super" grfx card like the Radeon 9800. Take a look here .
    It does like RAM, though, I recommend at least 512 MB of it.

    Have fun!

    BTW, if it gives you any idea:
    On a PowerMac G4 500 MHz with Radeon 8500 and 1 GB RAM it ran perfectly. Medium settings, 1024 x 768 resolution.
    On a Dual 1.25 GHz G4 with Radeon 9800 it ran super, all settings high, @ 1600 x 1200 resolution.
    :)
     
  3. jknight8907 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jknight8907

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY
    #3
    Thanks for the fast reply. I guess if it runs good on the 500mhz, it should to great on a new PB. :D
     
  4. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #5
    I currently run X-Plane V7 on an iMac 1GHz, 256 RAM; it runs prety OK, but sometimes has frame glitches, because of the low RAM.

    I used to run X-Plane V6 on an iBook, 800 MHz, with 128 RAM; it was pretty bad, but playable... :D
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Also don't forget the pretty low-end grfx cards. X-Plane might not need an 9800 orso, but likes 64 MB VRAM.
     
  6. micvog macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #7
    I downloaded the demo last weekend and have just started playing with it. Besides being a big adjustment from FS2K4 on Windows, I would describe the performance as being on the lower-end of being acceptable. You might find yourself lowering some settings to maintain playability in certain situations. (FWIW, I have been focusing on the Cessna in southern California since that is what I fly in real life.)

    Does anyone have a recommended joystick? I have the original MS Sidewinder but I haven't even tried hooking it up to my PB yet. Also, has anyone tried the SoCal scenery? How does that affect performance?
     
  7. jknight8907 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jknight8907

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY
    #8
    Check out the CH products: chproducts.com.

    I doubt if you would be able to get the sidewinder working good on the PB considering its a gameport connection.
     
  8. micvog macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #9
    Thanks.

    The Sidewinder included a GamePort->USB converter, but I think you are right.
     
  9. isus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    #10
    i tried one of the v7 demos on my 1.5ghz/128mb vram/512mb pbook, and it was horrible.
     
  10. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    ????

    Bad performance on that beauty?
     
  11. isus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    #12
    yea, i didn't get it either... i might try again some other day.
     
  12. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #13
    I have the same pbook, 1.5ghz/128 vram/1gig ram/ 5400rpm. It seemed to run ok, sorta slow at times, takes for ever to load up, but I just don't know how to fly! MS flight sim is easy to fly, but I know nothing about real planes, just wanna zip around between buildings. So Just need how to learn how to take off in this advanced program!
     

Share This Page