X11 Not running properly?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Laplace, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. Laplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #1
    I have never used X11 on my mac (os 10.4.2), but now I am trying to use a program that requires it. Is there anything i have to do to allow x11 to run? When I try to run the app that requires X11 this is the error message that I get.

    dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.6.dylib
    Referenced from: /Applications/Engineering/qucs0.0.7/qucs.app/Contents/MacOS/qucs
    Reason: image not found
    Sep 26 18:10:06 iChads-Powerbook crashdump[4913]: qucs crashed
    Sep 26 18:10:06 iChads-Powerbook crashdump[4913]: crash report written to: /Users/ichad/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/qucs.crash.log



    The following is the message that was recorded in the qucs.crash.log:


    **********


    Host Name: iChads-Powerbook
    Date/Time: 2005-09-26 18:10:06.179 -0500
    OS Version: 10.4.2 (Build 8C46)
    Report Version: 3


    Command: qucs
    Path: /Applications/Engineering/qucs0.0.7/qucs.app/Contents/MacOS/qucs
    Parent: WindowServer [93]


    Version: ??? (???)


    PID: 4912
    Thread: Unknown


    Link (dyld) error:


    Library not loaded: /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.6.dylib
    Referenced from: /Applications/Engineering/qucs0.0.7/qucs.app/Contents/MacOS/qucs
    Reason: image not found
     
  2. jim. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    C-ville, VA
    #2
    I assume you do have X11 and Qt installed on the system? The image not found is bothersome, as it makes me wonder where the libX11 was at compile time. It is possible that you have the wrong version of the libX11 file on your system. Does qucs support Tiger's version of X11, or just Panther's?

    Jim
     
  3. Laplace thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #3
    No i have not installed X11 on my Mac. I thought it was preinstalled with the operating system, but yes I have installed Qt libraries.

    If I have to install X11 seperately, which do you suggest?

    Thanks
     
  4. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    First look for the X11 icon under /Applications/Utilities if it isn't there install it, it should of come with your restore discs. Start X11 once it is installed, and try to run your app again, everything should be fixed.
     

Share This Page