X11 problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by agiveon, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. agiveon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #1
    I am trying to install the beta version of matlab on the new mac pro (intel based). The matlab installer tells me that I need X11 to run matlab... so I downloaded the latest version of X11 from apple.com and tried to install it... then I am told that I cannot install it because I ALREADY HAVE IT... so what is going on?... do I have it or not? ... any ideas why its telling me this?
     
  2. rhoydotp macrumors 6502

    rhoydotp

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    interesting. let me know what happens....i'm supposed to be getting the student beta for intel macs. for some reason they have to ship it to me, instead of download it
     
  4. agiveon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #4
    X11 not found anywhere

    I know X11 should be in utilities, but its not there... I even made a search for X11 everywhere in the computer and found nothing... very strange..
     
  5. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    If X11 is not installed on your computer, you can install it from the disk that shipped with your computer. You cannot install it from any other source.
     
  6. knome macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    I've had this problem before, the system CD installs all the frameworks, bu the application package is put into the application package archive folder (don't remember the name) but you can't install if from there, what i had to do was remove the package receipt from that folder and it let me install it.

    EDIT: found it, library/Recipts
     

Share This Page