X11 There, but not there.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DJ OJ, Oct 22, 2006.

  1. DJ OJ macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #1
    I do gimp shop. Recently I did Archive and Install. ( Wish I didn't) Now when I try to open gimp, this is what it says [see screenshot] HELP PLEASE!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Have you actually installed X11? It's not part of the default installation.
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Put in your OSX install disk 1 (came with your computer), and search in spotlight for 'X11', install the package and you're done.
     
  4. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #4
    Yes. before the Archive and Install

    Is there any easy way to get X11 to work. I know it is installed.
     
  5. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #6
    Console Says:
    Thanks, I think. :)
     
  6. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #7
    Have you tried reinstalling it anyway?

    *Stands back and admires your dock*
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    You have to reinstall it, as the Archive and Install will have archived it. Put your DVD in and run Optional Installs.
     
  8. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #9
    Okay, thank you. That makes me angry. I don't want to install it again.
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    Why not? It's almost a one-click installation.
     
  10. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #11
    Yes, but wouldn't you rather just open the application rather then waiting for it to install. Also, I am not admin so I have to get my dad to do it. And he will ask these questions ( He uses PCs ) :

    Dad: Why do I need to install it?
    Me: Because when I did Archive and Install something happened. :)

    Dad: What is it?
    Me: Don't you remember? It is for gimp to run.

    Dad: Do you really need it now?
    Me: YES!

    Dad: Later.
    Me: NOW!
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    X11 isn't an application, it's a system component. X11.app is just a launcher. You need to install X11 before the launcher (or Gimp) will work :)
     
  12. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #13
    Sorry. :) I am going to get my dad and show him this thread. Besides X11 being a system component what exactly is it?
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    OS X is based on Unix. Gimp is written for Unix. Unix was originally a text-based OS, so they created a GUI for it, called the X Window System. It's up to version 11, commonly called X11. Since Gimp hasn't been rewritten to use OS X's Aqua, you need to install X11 for it :)
     
  14. Sayer macrumors 6502a

    Sayer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #15
    Couple observations:

    What part of the error message didn't you understand, exactly? It told you X11 was missing and how to get it back.

    Secondly, how did you manage to do an Archive and Install without your dad's permission? Seeing as you now need his permission to re-install X11, how did you Archive and Install?

    I am mostly interested as I have been known to write software and do tech support. I am continually amazed by the byzantine human/computer interactions that occur every day, here in the "future" world of 2006.
     
  15. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #16
    kinda of unrelated but how could I install x11 with out my osx disk? I downloaded X11 off the Apple site and tried to install it but all i get is the error that newer software exist but I do not know what the newer software is.
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    You need to use the version that comes with OS X, the one on Apple's site is for older systems.
     
  17. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #18
    X11 at Apple's website is for 10.3, not 10.4. Unless somebody is hosting it illegally somewhere, the only way is to get from your install disks.
     
  18. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
  19. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #20
    I've heard of something called Xdarwin, but I am not sure if it will be good enough. Google it and see if it looks like it is OK.
     

Share This Page