X1900 Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Videographer, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. Videographer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #1
    I was wondering if the Mac version of the ATI X1900 will have the component output for HDTV viewing.

    Looking at the board on ATI's site shows that it has a third output for YPrPb component output for "direct drive of HDTV displays" in addition to the two DVI outs. http://www.ati.com/products/RadeonX1900/specs.html

    Looking at the same card on Apple's site, they make no mention of such output and the picture of the card even does not show the black circular plug where the component adapter would go. http://www.apple.com/macpro/graphics.html
    It's small on that page, but compare to here:
    http://www.ati.com/products/radeonX1900/gallery.html

    As a video producer, I would be very interested in having that output in order to run an HDTV for video preview while using two DVI displays.

    Thanks for your help. I'm placing my order soon and am hoping they start shipping sooner than they say. ;-)
     
  2. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #2
    Err... isn't that S-Video? If so that is definitely not HDTV, maybe they are referring to the fact you can drive an HDTV through the DVI ports or maybe I'm looking at the wrong picture but all I see on that gallery are X1900XTs with S-Video Out ports.
     
  3. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    Indeed, it's S-Video. Component would consist of a a Red, Green, and Blue port. Component can do HD, but they're most certainly talking about DVI on that page.

    Apple doesn't exactly provide many pictures of the card, but if you look at the tech specs there's no mention of S-Video or anything other than two dual-link DVI ports.
     
  4. Videographer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #4
    From the tech specs page:
    "YPrPb component output for direct drive of HDTV displays" - this is the kind with red, green and blue plugs.

    The ATI store has these listed under connections:
    - Dual dual-link DVI-I
    - 9-pin S—video and composite video input and output
    - YPrPb component output (with adapter)

    And these pieces in the box:
    - Composite and S-video cables
    - HDTV out cable
    - Two DVI to VGA adapters

    The black circular plug looks like S-Video, but isn’t. S-Video has four circle holes and one rectangular one. This one has 9 circular holes. My guess would either be that this plug is a sort of all-in-one plug which could power Composite, S-Video and Component based on the adapter you use (as none of them look like the plug shown), or it is just Composite & S-Video and the Component is driven by DVI with an adapter.

    So the next question is if indeed this output is not a feature on the X1900 Apple is offering, why would they water down the card? Even if it is just SDTV, I could still find a use for it. Are they continuing the saga of having users pay more and get less when it comes to the GPU? Or did they just not mention it on their site?
     
  5. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #5
    The saga continues... The Apple card only has two DVI ports. No extra port in the middle. So I thought, with the normal ATI X1900, that you had to use one of the DVI ports and put an adapter on it for HDTV. Didn't know that they had a special S-video port on it where you can plug the adapter in for HDTV
     
  6. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    BTW I was talking about Apple's page.

    I don't know... maybe when ATI made the Mac version they decided that no one would use that port, whatever it actually is.

    From your own quote from ATI's tech specs page:
    - Dual dual-link DVI-I
    - 9-pin S—video and composite video input and output
    - YPrPb component output (with adapter)
     
  7. Demoman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA
    #7
    So is this your real intent, to come on here and make a speech? Give it a rest, Newbie.
     
  8. Videographer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #8
    It looks like I missed that striking detail, Apfhex. :eek: Thanks for pointing it out.
    It seems like it would be more work to remove such a i/o than to just leave it in, but what do I know about it.

    It still irks me that we pay more for less when it comes to the GPU. I'll take all the inputs & outputs I can get -especially if I'm paying more than the PC guys. But what can I do? I'm still going to buy it. I've been waiting for over a year to upgrade my CPU. S-video or no, this card is still the best choice of the 3 (for me). Thanks for your help with this.



    You gotta love Mac snobs. Don't ya? I mean you just gotta. They're so cute and huggable. :)
     
  9. vv-tim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #9
    Perhaps this means you need a dongle that will split off into an S-Video input and composite input/output?

    Just guessing though.
     
  10. hal0n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    #10
    yeah, ATI's been doing that for years. you just plug in a break-out box full of different connectors.. but they've never had HD on the breakouts that i've had. you have always had to use one of your main vga/dvi outputs for that.

    to the OP... you could always use multiple video cards to get the outs that you need. I got the 7300 for just that reason. Once I get the x1900 i'll be set for all of my displays, including tv's and projector.
     
  11. Videographer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #11
    Genius. I was considering going a more high end route with a Black Magic or Kona for both capture & playback (eventually), but I hadn't thought of using just another simple card for playback. But the real genius part is that you got your Mac Pro right away and didn't have to wait... Good thinking. ;)

    But as long as I've waited this long another couple weeks won't kill me. Then there'll probably be a number of 7300's floating around on ebay or f/s on these boards (just a guess).

    BTW, is the new suggested ship date for X1900 systems the 30th -for those who ordered first? Will they continue shipping from that date on? The Apple store still says 3-4 weeks. Thanks.
     

Share This Page