X1900 XT gone bad

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bob5820, Nov 6, 2006.

  1. bob5820 macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #1
    Looks like my X1900 XT might have crapped out. My desktop is pixilated with small white squares. If I open a window with a white backround that window has small black squares all over it. If I move the window it becomes so pixilated you can not even read it. This is on my 30"ACD. I removed the ACD and hooked up a 20" Dell LCD, same problem. Called Applecare, we ran the hardware test, but nothing came up. We tried a couple of things and now they have me doing a erase and install. If this doesn't work they said they would need to send me a new card.
     
  2. Neonguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #2

    I hear your pain and as the same times I'm a bit worry because I just received my ATI X1900 XT Today. I'm going to put extra cooler on the Graphic Card since I heard from people it tend to make the fans on the Mac Pro go louder. How long have you had this ATI Card? I think it may be the ATI Card is overheating and failed on you.
     
  3. evp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #3
  4. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #4
    Wow, that's super cruddy! *hugs X1900 and hopes it doesn't happen to him*
     
  5. Neonguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #5
    Actually I order mine on Thursday and got it on Monday overnight. So the ATI Graphic Card shipping isn't as bad as before. But people who order it have more have more priority over people who have their ATI busted and need a replacement. Maybe you have better luck this time.
     
  6. bob5820 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #6
    Exactly what mine looks like. The Erase and reinstall was no help. I'll give Applecare a call today and get them to ship me a new videocard.
     
  7. Fredou51 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Wow, that's horrible. I hope it doesn't happen to mine!

    Frederic
     
  8. padré macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #8
    X1900 gone bad

    i had my mac pro for about 5 days when my mac seemed to go into sleep mode after a few minutes, anyways i brought it to a macstore and they just called me today telling me that the ati card was totally broken, :s wtf, they are ordering a new one, i hope it arives soon cause i need that mac pro like hell
     
  9. Neonguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #9
    I can't believe so many people have their ATI Card gone bad on them. I just got mine install but have already return my 23 ACD. My old VGA Monitor is not working, but I'm hoping my ATI Card will last me a long time since it such an expensive card. Apple should really do something about this issue. For 1 not make the card extrememly big. I also notice it make a lot of noise.
     
  10. bob5820 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #10
    So I've got Apple sending me a new card. I had to give them my credit card number in case I fail to return the defective card. The charge for not returning the deffective card, now hold on to your hats, $1300.00. Guess they want that card back real bad.
     
  11. Fredou51 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario, Canada
    #11
    Wow, that's quite a lot of money considering the cost of a new one from the apple store is like $300.

    Frederic
     
  12. bob5820 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #12
    Suprised me too. I'm wondering if the tech was looking at the part number for the high end nVidia card, but I asked him twice to confirm the X1900Xt and he did.
     
  13. Videographer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #13
    I'm wondering how good their hardware test really is. I had a blatant memory issue and their fancy diagnostic tool couldn't find it (except for once when they ran it all night long). Yet the whole system crashed after 5 minutes of MemtestOSX...

    Trust me I feel your pain being without the system. I was lucky to have at least a Powerbook G4 to fall back on. But it still isn't fun.
     
  14. bob5820 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #14
    I've got my Macbook to fall back on. If the card doesn't ship by tomorrow I'll probably start calling and become a PIA. Funny thing is every time I call their first question is "Would you like to sign up for Applecare?", my reply "Well that all depends on how well you handle this repair"
     
  15. bob5820 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #15
    Well its been over a week now and still no video card. I fanally got someone at Applecare to admit the cards are on backorder with no estimated ship date. I can understand back orders, I have to deal with them all the time in my line of business. What's troubled me most about this entire situation is Apple's "We will ship it to you when we get to it, until then just sit quietly in the corner" attitude. The Apple care techs who I've talked to have been pretty responsive, but Apple makes them jump through hoops to get any kind of status on the shipment of warranty parts. I was originally told the card would ship "in a day or two", when that didn't happen my calls resulted in "it normally takes 5 - 7 business days to ship". After a week I pressed for more information nad was told of the back order. I realize that video cards fail, and it was just the luck of the draw, but I'm quite disapointed with Apples ability to rectify the situation in a timely manner. Thankfully I can get by with my Macbook for a while, which is actually kind of ironic as I was more concerned about the reliabilty of te Macbook then the Mac Pro.
     
  16. dusanv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #16
    That sucks. I just ordered a Mac Pro and it's supposed to ship by Monday (20th). It has a BTO x1900 XT. I wonder what will happen come Monday. Can they ship without the x1900 XT?

    If those cards are dying so much, I wonder whether it'd be a good idea to buy AppleCare before the warranty is up.
     
  17. John@Portland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #17
    I got my MacPro in the mail last thursday. By the next day I had it mostly set up, then noticed that when playing DVD's, HD Movies, Games, and apples own screen saver Flurry. A line moves from the bottom to the top of the screen in about ten seconds, the line isn't black but rather you can see a time distortion between what is above and below the line. It basically looks like a VCR with the V-hold set wrong. This occurs every thing that moving 2D and 3D graphics are displayed across the screen. I called apple on sunday and giulded me threw software Checks, then advised that I take it in and set an appointment for me later that day. The "Apple Genius" that helped me was a total gerk. The said and wrote in his service report that he determined that the GPU s likly functioning under spec. and that I should have more resonable expectations. I would rely like comments. Is watching a tv show or a DVD with smooth play back an unresonable expectation. My system is a Quad proc 2.66 with 1 Gig ram and the X1900 XT graphics card. He did take the computer in for replacment but said that if the issue isn't fixed then the problem must be considered within spec. By the way avoid the apple store in portland, I have been there seven times and the support service it terrible.
     
  18. bob5820 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #18
    Well, I'm going to eat a little crow on this one. The video card showed up on my door step today. It's funny, I never got any notification that the card had shipped, and eveytime I called Apple they told me it hadn't shipped yet. It sounds to me like Apple has a serious comunications problem within its organization. If the Apple care techs have to jump through hoops to get shipping info, and then that info isn't even right, then Apple isn't doing all it can for its customers. In my case it was in inconvenance, and some anoyance that my new computer was down. But what if I was a profesional that relied on my computer to make a living. That misinformation that the card was on back order with no ship date might have caused me to seek a expensive but quik solution.
     
  19. Fredou51 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario, Canada
    #19
    I noticed this once with the flurry screensaver but then I changed for another screensaver that is fine. I compared it to my parents' imac (old G4 imac) and they have the same problem with the flurry screensaver so it might not be a mac pro issue but a OS X issue. Everything else is fine with me though. It okay when playing dvds and such.

    Frederic
     
  20. John@Portland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #20
    The screen saver is certainly not the only problem which I have observed. It does the same thing if I fit a Quicktime, or Elgato Eyetv movie up to full screen. And it was doing all manner of strange things in Doom 3 which I used as a test because Apple used it as a bench mark.
     
  21. thagomizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #21
    Just a thought... do you have another video card in there with your X1900?

    If you have an Nvidia 7300 in there as well, this is exactly the type of problem you might see. If there's another card in there, take it out.
     
  22. John@Portland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #22
    No, the X1900 is the only card I have in the computer.
     
  23. TMF macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Grenoble, France
    #23

    My card appears to have crapped out on me in exactly the same manner...

    Maybe the first run of ATI equipped mac pros got hit with a batch of bad cards?

    Even more frustrating, the machine appears to work perfectly save for the display corruption. For instance: it boots fine under tiger and XP, but will lock up as soon as an app tries to leverage the GC.

    Well, no use *itching about it, going to call apple tommorow...
     
  24. Fredou51 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario, Canada
    #24
    Wow, that is bad. I hope it won't happen to me. So if I count correctly, it is 5 cards reported in this thread that have gone bad? I hope it's not a widespread issue.

    Frederic
     
  25. Neonguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #25
    To the people who have their ATI Card fail, did you overlock your Video Card?
     

Share This Page