Xbox 360 Compatibility wiht Apple Cinema Display

Discussion in 'Games' started by Tuned MP5T, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. Tuned MP5T macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    I'm getting the Xbox 360 and I was wondering is there anyway I can connect it to my Apple Display? If so how would I toggle between my Mac Mini and Xbox 360? Would I have to unplug either one?

    How do you think the picture will look?
     
  2. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #2
    You would need an xBox 360 DVI cable.

    Your 360 (Your? Not even out yet!) would need to be be to widescreen and there will probably be some sort of "HD" enable button.

    I would imagine that someone sells a DVI switchbox so you can hook multiple machines up to i DVI capable monitor
     
  3. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    and the Xbox DVI cable would probably cost around $750 or £855. of course that makes no sense! its global markets!
     
  4. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #4
    This is what I'm planning to do also. I've pre-ordered my XBox 360 with Microsoft's DVI Connector kit, as I will get an infinitely better picture on my Cinema Display than my TV, especially as the 360 is HD Enabled.
     
  5. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #5
    What the hell is a Xbox 360 DVI kit? Last I heard, it was VGA, not DVI.
     
  6. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #6
    xBox has one big wodge of a connecter at the back that can carry everything.

    Means you only need to build 1 connecter and make the machine cheaper.

    Down side is that you need to buy a non-standard cable to connect it to you TV/monitor/HI FI.

    And theres lots of money to be made there.
     
  7. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #7
  8. GonzoRob macrumors 6502

    GonzoRob

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    #8
    I was thinking about putting an xbox 360 into my sony 17" FTF - max res 1280x1024. Any ideas if the 360 would run games at this res by default .. or would it be at irritating 1280x720 (i dont think my display supports 720i) or massive 1080i ?
    It would be great if the xbox support standard computer resolutions ..
    Rob
     
  9. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #9
    Oh well, at least if its VGA i can have mt PC and 360 hooked up to my 24" monitor :D
     

Share This Page