XBox 360 - Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'Games' started by HelixOmnimedia, Dec 27, 2006.

1. HelixOmnimedia macrumors 6502a

HelixOmnimedia

Hello,

As the title suggests I'm new to the XBox 360, just got it from Santa:) , but would have loved a MacBook Pro instead:eek: Anyway... I have a couple of questions needing answered. I was in my local Currys Store (i'm from the UK) and they couldn't help.

1) I've got the full system with the hard drive, it states 20gb in all of magazines, however under System>Memory ect..ect it says capacity 14gb. WHY? Where has 6gb gone to?

2) Someone told me that it had built in wireless? Is this correct? I've seen a wireless adapter for £59.99!! Does this mean, if i want to join XBox Live, i need to buy the adapter?

3) I got Sonic the Hedgehog, but whenever i got to play it it says i have to change the display to PAL60, not PAL50. However when it's changed the picture quality is very very poor. WHY?

THANKS

2. liketom macrumors 601

liketom

the 7 GB is for back compat games and other stuff

wireless add on is for the basic xbox360 - you already have it

3 Pal 50/60 is frame rate i think? i run at pal 60 on my projector cos is looks better :)

Get other to Marketplace and start downloading some game demos !!

Enjoy

3. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

HelixOmnimedia

So what do i need to set it up?
    I have a NETGEAR wireless modem/router? Will that work.

I really appreciate all the help. THANKS:)

4. MRU macrumors demi-god

MRU

1) I've got the full system with the hard drive, it states 20gb in all of magazines, however under System>Memory ect..ect it says capacity 14gb. WHY? Where has 6gb gone to?

Part of the Hard Drive is reserved for the system and backwards compatability and for buffering some games like Oblivion.

2) Someone told me that it had built in wireless? Is this correct? I've seen a wireless adapter for £59.99!! Does this mean, if i want to join XBox Live, i need to buy the adapter?