Xbox 360, PS3 and a new 21.5" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by CaCohen0509, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. CaCohen0509
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    CaCohen0509

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Ok i have been reading, researching for days after getting my first iMac. I have an Xbox 360 and PS3 that both need to be displayed through my iMac's screen. is there ANY way to do it. i have not really found a clear cut answer anywhere else and i'm hoping some genius here on the forums will help me solve my problem and i'm sure a lot of other people's problems.

    Thanks,
     
  2. rigid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    I think the minidisplayport input is only available on the 27".
     
  3. CaCohen0509
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    CaCohen0509

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    i know that but is there any other way. lets just say that price isnt an issue (unless the thing cost over 300).
     
  4. djcorrosive
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  5. googdot
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Location:
    Aotearoa...Land Of The Long White Cloud
    #5
    I thought you could use an EyeTV Hybrid to do it?
     
  6. Mike Macintosh
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Mike Macintosh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #6
    you can, but be advised the best you can get out of it is 480p while playing games.
     
  7. djcorrosive
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #7
    Which is pointless. I don't know why ppl want to play games on it. I rather play on my 56" led tv
     
  8. CaCohen0509
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    CaCohen0509

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    the only reason i have this problem is because i don't have anymore room for another monitor and i thought it would be great for the consoles to play through the display. What about the HD PVR. is there a lot of lag time, also does anybody know if it has some sort of game mode like the Elgato Hybrid 250?
     
  9. Scarlet Fever
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #9
    Yes, it is possible, as discussed in this thread. This post summarises the threads findings;



    Unfortunately, not all of us are sufficiently endowed with wealth to own 56" LED TVs. But thank you for your constructive input to the question.
     
  10. CaCohen0509
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    CaCohen0509

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10

    The only problem is that were Dealing with a 21" iMac not a 27". there has to be some other way of getting an HD input without lag or any thing else




    Thats right
     
  11. Scarlet Fever
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #11
    :eek: i read too quickly...

    To go back on what i said above, no, it is not possible to input display signal to a 21.5" iMac in any manner which would give acceptable quality. The Elgato EyeTV Hybrid will allow input, but the quality is rubbish.
     
  12. djcorrosive
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #12
    Haha I already said it's not possible :p
    and I'm sure a very large majority of ppl here already have lcds r plasmas of all sizes, I just don't see the point of playing it on something so tiny
     
  13. Danny123454321
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    #13
    Playing Xbox on a 21.5" iMac

    I got the NEET Mini DisplayPort to HDMI for my iMac. I have plugged it in to the back of my iMac and turned my xbox on. but i don't know what to do next.... Is there a program I need to download or anything like that, to play my xbox on my iMac?
     
  14. iCaleb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Kanex said they were making a new hdmi input device.

    3 years later........Nothing.

    I wonder what happened?

    ----------

    That won't work.
     
  15. forty2j
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #15
    Last I saw they needed some chip from Intel and Intel wasn't making it.
     

Share This Page