Xbox 360 & Samsung TV

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by simontarr, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi All.

    I just got my new Samsung TV delivered today (LE23R87BDX) and I'm looking to optimise the image on screen as best I can.

    Some films come with a THX Optimiser that's designed to balance everything correctly so as to get the best picture possible for that film. I'm just wondering if there is something similar for the 360. If there isn't can someone with the same TV (or very similar specs-wise) enlighten me on the setting they feel gives the best picture?

    Cheers.
     
  2. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    To get the best from your tv, you need to connect the 360 via yellow phono.

    Once connected to AV - make sure you turn your brightness up 100% and contrast down to the minimum.

    If you can custom control colour you need to either remove saturation completely, or chage hue so that there is an over abundance of purple and green.

    Once that's all done lay back and relax.... what's that you can hear your wondering... It's me cursing you out of jealousy for having a nice TV ;):D





    But in all seriousness, just connect your 360 to the tv via HDMI if your 360 has it and enjoy. Most TVs have a multimedia or gaming mode preset anyway.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    :D :D :D

    I didn't used to have a good TV! I brought a Polaroid a few weeks ago and it was....well.....s***. So I took it back, saved for another few weeks and brought the Samsung from Play.com. I cannot state how good it is compared to the Polaroid, and it was only £60 more. For the money, this is a seriously good TV, and I would recommend you beg/borrow/steal/sell your first born in order to get one.

    Back on topic...I think I've got the settings just about perfect having spent most of last night fiddling with the settings. I will post them if anyone is interested.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #4
    I am interested.

    I have the Samsung Monitor 22" and I love it - connect up to it via VGA. I guess getting a TV would be a better idea in the long run... got a link to the one you bought?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Yep sure, you can take a look here

    If you are thinking of getting a TV soon instead of using your monitor, definitely have this on your shortlist. Turn the Dynamic Contrast Ratio on high and you will have really deep blacks, and really vibrant colours. Halo 3 looks particularly good.

    I'm just making a note of my '360 settings' and will post them in 10 mins or so.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #6
    Many thanks. I have the Samsung black Syncmaster 22" - it's really good. VGA isn't the best thing in the world though... but the monitor is over £100 cheaper which is why I went for it. If I didn't buy a 20" ACD in the same week, it would be a different story. Maybe the settings can be the same though.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #7
    My Samsung (Wall mounted 32" LE32R73BD) comes with a 'Games' setting but tbh I didn't notice much of a difference.

    All I can see is it turns the brightness down a touch to reduce the glare.

    I have my Premium 360 plugged in using the component cables, and using the 720p setting on the 360. Thats about the best way to do it, makes minimal difference.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    My Favourite Xbox 360 Settings

    How the image looks to you is very subjective, but these settings are the ones I use for my 360 gaming. If you have any of your own, feel free to post them :)

    Firstly, you need to set the picture mode to 'Standard' (as opposed to Dymanic). This 'unlocks' the Detailed Settings that allow you to change things such as Dynamic Contrast, Edge Enhancement etc.

    Once that's on, I recommend the following settings:

    Mode: Standard
    Contrast: 80
    Brightness: 40
    Sharpness: 20
    Colour: 50
    Tint: 50-50
    Colour Tone: Cool 1
    Backlight: 2
    Digital NR: Auto
    DNIe: On
    Movie Plus: On

    Here are the settings I have changed in 'Detailed Settings'

    Black Adjust: High
    Dynamic Contrast: High
    Gamma: 0
    Edge Enhancement: Off
    Colour Space: Wide


    Hope these settings help if you feel that you're picture doesn't look right :)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    I've tried the game setting, and I don't like it. I'm not 100% sure what it does to the image, but I feel that it makes things more washed out. Not terribly so, but enough for me to want to mess around with the settings for ages to get a picture I think is good.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #10
    Thats all you can do. Mess about with the settings until you find a picture that you like, and you think is good. People will tell you all sorts of different things, but really, the environment a TV is in makes a huge difference.

    Messing about with it is the way forward.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #11
    Yep, this is true.

    I've had to change some settings just because it's now light outside.

    It's quite entertaining changing setting in a sad, nerd kinda way! I like seeing if I can get a 'perfect' picture.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #12
    Yeah. I struggle to see a difference really. Don't get me wrong I can tell, but I'm not really that anal about it.

    I like having the HD and stuff, but the finer points will take up too much of my time if I get into changing them, so I steer clear.
     
  13. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Damn play not shipping electronics to Ireland :rolleyes:

    We'll show you the price in Euro's check
    We'll let you add to your basket check
    We'll let you proceed to checkout check
    Then tell you to go stick your head where the sun don't shine check
     
  14. macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #14
    Going to buy a HDTV? I can not recommend a Samsung enough, I really can't.

    Looking for a surround system for mine at the moment, but I think I'm going to buy it all separate rather than getting a package. Mmmmm, expensive. :D
     
  15. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Nah already have a 42" and a 32" I think anymore is overkill :D But just added to my play basket to see how much shipping might have been.... But will never know now.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #16
    ive got the syncmaster 19" monitor/tv and its great, i just wish my wii outputted in full HD so that i could take advantage of it!
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #17
    I wasn't either until I experienced that crappy Polariod, now I'm always meddling with the settings...I'm paranoid! :eek:
     

Share This Page