Xbox 360 UK?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by d wade, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #1
    is there a difference between Xbox360 in the US and the UK. i found a relatively cheap one on ebay but it says UK.

    now, i already have a 360, but i bought it here in the US. im looking to give this as a gift. is there any differences? i want it to be the exact same as the one i own.
     
  2. Piarco macrumors 68030

    Piarco

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    Londinium
    #2
    One major obvious difference - region locking of disks. You'll only be able to play UK games and Region 2 DVD's.
    And wouldn't this be better off in the Game sub-forum?
     
  3. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    The UK model uses the PAL colour scheme not NTSC. PAL by default runs at a higher standard definition resolution 576 lines versus 480, but also by default it runs at 50 Hz, although all good PAL TVs support PAL60 which is 576 lines @ 60 Hz. The UK model would also run on 230 volts not 120.
     
  4. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #4
    Is this still relevant for HD gaming? Or have the formats been standardised?
     
  5. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    By default the PAL 360 will display 720p/1080i @ 50 Hz. You actually need to restart the console back in standard definition and change the PAL settings from PAL to PAL60 to get 720p/1080i @ 60 Hz.
     
  6. Piarco macrumors 68030

    Piarco

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    Londinium
    #6
    A region specific PSU takes care of the power requirements - or so I thought - as its one way of removing costs in producing two different consoles.

    Can't the video output be changed in the settings blade? I know it can for PAL50/60 (although that isn't straight forward. Having to change back to PAL 50 for Halo 2 is just a pain) so I imagine it coudl be changed to NTSC? Most 360 games can either run on PAL50 or 60, but some definitely only run on PAL60.
     
  7. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    PAL 360s only support PAL, PAL60, and 60 Hz VGA they don't do NTSC.
     
  8. d wade thread starter macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
  9. d wade thread starter macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #9
    my bad. i didnt even realize there was one. i just found it. i figured this was like the 'off-topic' section, where anything would be ok.
     

Share This Page