Xbox 360 VGA Cable: Worth it over Component?

Discussion in 'Games' started by sikkinixx, Mar 15, 2007.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    If I ever get my TV in my room working :)mad: stupid ****ing thing :mad: ) I am going to move my 360 in there. I am wondering if I should pick up a the VGA cable for my 360 to use instead of component. This would leave my sole component input free for maybe my Wii (If I ever get around to buying the component cables) or whatever else.

    Anyone use the VGA cables? You can upscale DVD's using them right? I found a set open-box for $24.95 at Bestbuy so I will probably get those as opposed to spending $50 on them new :p
     
  2. SpankyPenzaanz macrumors 6502a

    SpankyPenzaanz

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #2
    I have one for my 17"Samsung multifunction lcd and I think its worth it because I get 1080i(its what the screen can handle). You may also want to check something like a gamestop because I saw a used one there for $18
     
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Yeah go for it. An excellent DVD upscaler is all yours for the price of the cable. I have no regrets getting mine - go for it :)
     
  4. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #4
    Is the quality any better? I notced a difference between component and DVI with my PS3 but since VGA is analog just like component I don't know if there will be one (?)

    And I watched Independence Day MRU, And I don't see you!!! LIAR!!! :D
     
  5. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #5
    is your TV HD? if so, then go component. the wii doesnt need component as it isnt HD, but for the XBOX360, it will make a world of difference.
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Quality wise component on the 360 is better than PS3 so there isnt the massive noticeable difference compared to DVi & Component on the PS3.

    VGA is a bit better - but the DVD upscaling is noticeably better.



    Oh and I was wearing a mask... :p :D I haven't updated my fact of the day today yet... a new one follows shortly :)
     
  7. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #7
    Yup, a 19" 720p/1080i Samsung LCD.








    And alrightly, I will pick one up this weekend providing it's still there open box :D The 360 is moving into my room (sadly no xbox live anymore :( stupid ms and no wifi :mad: ) and my PS3 has moved into the billiards/home theatre room since Casino Royale doesn't get justice on a mere 19" screen..
     
  8. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
  9. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #9
    I will give that a go. I don't really wanna have to have my Macbook on while I use XBL but in a pinch for downloading demos and such hopefully it will work until I figure out a better (ie. not paying M$ 130 for that stupid USB-WiFi )solution :D

    My dad is gonna be choked that im not using the ethernet jack he put it. When he remodelled our basement I got him to run CAT5 wire from the computer room into the room where my big screen is (about 60 feet through the ceiling) so I could use it for Live/PS3/Wii (Since my ADSL outlet/modem/router is in the computer room). But then I found out that PS3 and Wii would use WiFi so it was only being used for 360. Now the 360 is outta there and nothing is using it :eek:
     

Share This Page