Xbox and iMac G5

Discussion in 'Games' started by Leareth, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. Leareth macrumors 68000

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #1
    Is it possible to connect the xbox to the iMac and use the imac screen?
    I am sick of my TV screen, and like the nice crisp imac screen better, the only thing my TV gets used for now is the Xbox, so can I toss (sell) the TV and use the iMac instead?
     
  2. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #2
    FireWire A/V Bridge and utilizing iMovie or other app. I think that's the only solution for an iMac... Correct me if I'm wrong, people.
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    Just beware that a lot of the analog->DV converters have some serious lag.
     
  4. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #4
    You're very right. I tried something like this on my PC and I returned it because the lag was like 2 seconds on a 2.6P4
     
  5. pgc6000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #5
    Besides, don't TV screens make graphics look better or something?
     
  6. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #6
    Well, better in a sense. On a TV the textures are blurred, and you don't see nearly as many jaggies as on a crisp monitor. So if the game has funky textures or an AA problem, a decent TV can fix it somewhat.

    In fact it was reccomended to folks to play Doom 3 on a TV. Simply since you could get a higher fps without a drop in graphics quality.
     
  7. ZildjianKX macrumors 68000

    ZildjianKX

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #7
    Very true, but run an Xbox on an HDTV in 480p or 720p and the problem is solved :)
     
  8. irock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #8
    El Gato has TV Wonder USB 2.0 that doesn't have terrible lag. THough, you may not snipe someone with this kind of setup.
     

Share This Page