Xbox.com doesn't work with Safari... why?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ebally, Nov 30, 2005.

  1. ebally macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    For the last few days I have been trying to access Microsoft's Xbox website, but I keep getting server not found.

    But the strangest thing is that it works perfectly well with Camino and Firefox broswers.

    How come the website works with some browsers and not others?
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. ebally thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    WHAT!? :eek:

    It doesn't work for me in Safari 2.0.2 and Internet Explorer 5.2 (OS Tiger 10.4.3).
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Works fine on my iBook (Mac OS X 10.4.3) in both Safari 2.0.2 and Firefox 1.5... :confused:

    Maybe it's time for some mumbo jumbo™?
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Well, you should just trash IE right now.. but the site I linked above works just fine in the latest Safari.
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    The US one works fine for me. The UK one is a little screwy though. Anyone else see this (page not found):

    Edit: I'm not sure it is the actual UK one?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Yes.. Their "webmasters" should be commended.
     
  8. ebally thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    I think you have typed the URL wrong for the UK site, it should be www.xbox.com/en-GB/

    Is there a way to force refresh a webpage in safari? As this is what I get when I visit the site:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    I assume Grapes made the same leap of logic as I did and change the "en-US" (english US) to "en-UK" (english UK). Shocker that it's non-functional and doesn't point to the proper page.

    As for what you're seeing, have you cleared your Safari cache?
     
  10. ebally thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Thank you. It finally works... (and it was not some big conspiracy on Microsoft behalf, like I originally thought). :D
     
  11. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Works fine for me...
    I'm so glad they've redesigned the whole site. The old design was nasty!
     
  12. kwajo.com macrumors 6502a

    kwajo.com

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Bay of Fundy
    #12
    the old one may have been nasty, but is this one really that much better :confused:
     

Share This Page