Xbox died out of the box!

Discussion in 'Games' started by AndyR, Jan 19, 2007.

  1. AndyR macrumors 6502a

    AndyR

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #1
    Finally decided to get a 360 yesterday and went for a Premium+GOW+RS:V bundle for £299. Picked it up and all looked good. Got it home, plugged it in to my nice new 37" HDTV and..........red light.....error 67!!

    Couldn't beleive it. I reseated the HDD and it worked but turned it on again this morning and same thing.

    Suffice to say its going back this weekend. NOT IMPRESSED! :mad:
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    The error ring. Please could you let us know how many quadrants are lit up and which one isnt.

    Also have you tried the 360 without the HDD plugged in. This will help you isolate any issue.

    You made sure there wasnt any of the clear sticky plastic covering any ports, check under the HDD.

    Check that your AV cable is plugged into the machine properly, by taking it our and putting it back in again.

    let us know how you get on.



    If no luck, As it's new, take it back to the store and get them to swap it.
     
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    Don't be less than impressed. These things happen...even to Apple products.

    That issue could be your HD TV. You should plug it in with the regular composite cables to ensure your TV isn't causing the issue. This is a known issue as far as I know--if I know it then lord knows more people do.
    My XBOX had the red light once when plugged into someone's tv. Turns out there was something wrong with their HD.
     
  4. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #4
    I would reseat all the cables and try it without the harddrive. I loose AV cable will cause it to get that red lights as well. I would be very shocked if it didn't work right out of the box.

    Don't get too worked up, at worst you can just take it back to where you got it and have it replaced. It really is a great system and don't let one bad one ruin your experience.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Can testify to that. I've had more troubles with my powermac than any of my consoles. And once I drove for 4 hours to Dublin to pick up a mac mini, and 4 hours back. When I plugged it in it was DOA :eek:

    Crap things happen, but investigate all before you take it back, it could be somthing simple. :)
     
  6. kjr39 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    #6
    Unplug the HDD and turn it on.

    I got one at Xmas that had the same error code. Ended up being a bad HDD. I returned it and got another one.
     
  7. Swarmlord macrumors 6502a

    Swarmlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #7
    Infant mortality can affect a small population of any electronic device.
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    Unlucky. My brother managed to get to month 8 before he got red lights, my mate lasted a beautiful 10 months.
     
  9. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #9
    Return it, return it....Sometimes we get the bad apple but don't let that cloud your grade of the system.



    Bless
     
  10. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Same exact thing happened to me, it was indeed a bad HD. Just returned it for amother one, no harm, no foul.
     
  11. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #11
    and I complete the set... 9 months before its untimely death. RIP.
     
  12. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #12
    This is a common occurence on 360's though.....not rare at all.
     
  13. AndyR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AndyR

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #13
    Well after reseating the HDD this morning its worked fine. Have been power cyclng it about 10-15 times over the last 5 hours and its come up fine each time.

    Hopefully it was a just a dodgy connection on the HDD. Am going to see how it goes as I can;t get to the store again till Sunday anyway so if it is fine till then I will take it as just me being a moron with seating the HDD, if not back it goes.

    Have to say though, after 45mins on RS:V earlier.....WOW! Simply awesome! :D
     
  14. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    I guessed that was the problem.

    I had a similar thing once when I went from vertical to horizontal.

    I had to take off the drive and reseat it. After that back to normal.

    Glad your enjoying your game. R6 Vegas - does indeed Rock :)
     
  15. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #15
    Glad to hear it works. Sometimes the connection from the HDs can be rather funny. It happens sometimes, and I've seen people bring back their 360s, we resat the hard disk, and it worked perfectly. I guess they just need better shipping materials. :p Whatever happened to the days when consoles came in big foam blocks? :(
     

Share This Page