XBOX, GameCube, or PS2 - which to buy?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Grimace, Jun 13, 2004.

1. Grimace macrumors 68040

Grimace

My last video game system was a Sega Genesis! I have a little more time on my hands now and I'd like to spend it playing video games. :p

I have NO knowledge of any of these types of systems, but I'd like to get one fairly soon. Got recommendations?? I like flight games (space or earth flightcraft) and games like UT2004 etc. 4 players at the most, and I don't really care about online gaming. I will be playing in my home recording studio so if there are systems with optical/coax digital audio outputs, that would be fantastic. There is also a high-end projector with S-video, component, and DVI inputs that I might hook up.

Thanks for the advice! :D

2. mattthemutt macrumors regular

mattthemutt

I have a PSX and PS2. Both I find are great for gaming. Gamecube is a very kiddy system in my opinion. The Xbox is more powerful than the PS2 and the Gamecube, but the selection of games isn't as diverse. I recommend the PS2. It comes with the DVD feature and it can play PlayStation games as well as CDs.

3. mattthemutt macrumors regular

mattthemutt

oh I almost forgot, PS2 has Optical Audio out.

4. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816