Xbox Live Using MBP as a Bridge

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by freestyleguy128, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. freestyleguy128 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    Does anyone know exactly how to use an airport extreme recieving mbp to run xbox live on a 360? Is there a program I need? Any input is appreciated.
     
  2. Selenolycus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere
    #2
    I haven't tested this out myself, and I may very well in a few minutes. You shouldn't need to do anything more than ensure your OS X is connected to the net via AirPort.

    In OS X,
    Go to System Prefs>
    Sharing>
    Click the Internet tab >
    On the 'Share your connecion from" dropdown select AirPort >
    On the "To computers using:" check "Built-In Ethernet" >
    Click 'Start' >
    Plug an ethernet cable from your 360 to your MBP>
    Turn on 360

    I had just tested this out a few minutes ago with a Windows PC upon learning many modern Macs (if not all) do not require a crossover cable to connect to machines for networking.
     
  3. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #3
    ^^
    Thats doesn't work. It gets an IP address, as far as i can tell, sets up everything else. Establishes a link, but cant transfer anything.

    edit: as far as I can tell the 360 doesn't support crossover. Tried both on my G5 Powermac and MacBookPro. Nada. But If you shared to a router from you're MBP, then the 360 should connect to the router. I'll test this as soon as I find another router.
     
  4. Selenolycus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere
    #4
    Mine failed on IP Address. I've had problems with the 360's Xbox Live connection in the past. On one my router's I had to change firmware because the 360 failed to connect because of the MTU.

    When you run the test what part does it fail on?
     
  5. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #5
    It fails on IP, but you go into advance settings it says it has ip address blah blah blah :confused:

    I don't have enough cables to try this but, if you plugged your 360 into a second router and the MBP's ethernet to the input of the second router It should work.
     
  6. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    Is there any freeware or shareware out there that would allow for this bridge. If my mbp is getting wireless in my room, there is no reason I shouldnt be able to connect an ethernet cable to the 360 and my mbp and get a connection.
     
  7. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
  8. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    yeah...but I'm student with a strapped budget. I'm looking for inginuity over paying cash for something I could do with a little elbow grease...
     
  9. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #10
    im going out on a leg but I don't think the 360 supports a direct link.
     
  10. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
    could you explain what a direct link is please?
     
  11. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #12
    You be right. Direct link being a cable from a Computer (PeeCee or Mac) straight to the xbox. There may or may not be a long winded way around this, but in reality, you need a router.
     
  12. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #13
    You just need a cross-over cable to connect it, no need for a router.
     
  13. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #14
    where whould I buy a cross over cable?
     
  14. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #15
    What are my options other than the cable and trying to do this through my laptop? Keep in mind cheaper solutions maybe.
     
  15. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #16
    a cable is like 15 bucks more or less depending on the length. anyplace that has computer stuff has them aka wal mart, best buy whatever
     
  16. sergeantmudd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    #17
    you don't need a cross over cable. you just need to configure your xbox manually. do a search for instructions on how to set up a wii with internet sharing from a mac. (i am at work, i can't) it is in the mac gaming forum.
     
  17. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #18
    Cool that sounds like it may work. Unfortunately, I will not be able to set up the xbox until christmas when I get to open it. But I will be trying this.
     
  18. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #19
    no you if you read above it doesn't work.

    A cross over cable wont solve anything. The mac already takes care of it. I personally think cross over cables are total crap. They charge three times as much, and the only difference is the placement of two wires.
     
  19. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #20
    so you're saying that with a little bit of tweaking on the IP adress and other internet sharing factors, I should be able to get xbox live using the included ethernet cable plugged intp my mbp?
     
  20. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #21
    A cross-over cable will solve everything, if a straight through cable is used, the Tx and Rx for both devices would be tied together, really doing nothing. With a cross-over cable, the Tx and Rx pairs are reversed on one end, allowing, for instance, the Rx of the Mac to connect to the Tx of the Xbox, and the Tx of the Mac to connect to the Rx of the Xbox.

    Your opinion is just that, an opinion, just because you think they are total crap, does not mean that it won't work.
     
  21. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #22
    Have you tried this crossover cable and sucessfully gotten xbox live through your mac?
     
  22. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #23
    Code:
    ADD-Machine:~ Andrew$ ifconfig                          
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
            inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
            inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
            inet 192.168.2.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
            ether 00:16:cb:a1:ba:32 
            media: autoselect status: inactive
            supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control> none
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
            inet6 fe80::217:f2ff:fee7:8053%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5 
            inet 192.168.1.3 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
            ether 00:17:f2:e7:80:53 
            media: autoselect status: active
            supported media: autoselect
    wlt1: flags=41<UP,RUNNING> mtu 1500
    fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
            lladdr 00:17:f2:ff:fe:7f:c0:cc 
            media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
            supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
    Notice that the WiFi has the IP 192.168.1.3

    with sharing enabled, the ethernet has 192.168.2.1.

    So plug you xbox in, go into the terminal, and see what IP is assigned to the ethernet when sharing is enabled. Tell you xbox to use that, and then you should be up and running.

    also, why is apple making people buy a modem when there is one built in... go figure...
     
  23. freestyleguy128 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #24
    I have seen this in the link that I posted in this thread. However, it doesn't say that I need a crossover cable...
     
  24. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #25
    But doesn't the mac have an autodetecting ethernet card?

    At work we have a nice of straight and cross over cables that we have connected to the mac. The IT guy said it doesn't matter cause the mac auto detects the communication method and changes to suit the cable.
     

Share This Page