Xcode Developer Toolset Updated to Version 4.6

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    Following the release of iOS 6.1, Apple has updated its Xcode developer toolset as well. The new version, Xcode 4.6, includes improvements in code completion heuristics, new compiler warnings, and other coding improvements.
    Xcode 4.6 is available as a free download from the Mac App Store. [Direct Link]

    Article Link: Xcode Developer Toolset Updated to Version 4.6
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #2
    About Time

    This should have been in XCode 3! Been needing this for years and has added hours to my life adding logging statements to see the contents of these.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #3
    is it just me or is the update really 1.3 GB, pretty much as big as the full 1.5 GB Xcode in the store.
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  5. macrumors 603

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #5
    Great news, all around.

    Has Clang been updated? I was finding quirks with it refusing to compile some C++ code a week or two ago... I'm wondering if that code will still not compile.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #6
    I'm hoping this is the start of a much-needed and long overdue ramp up of the debugger support. For me, at least, it's the weakest part of the XCode experience by far.

    I'm giving them a pass for getting things on track with lldb and see this latest change as a step in the right direction. I'm hoping they'll run with it from here the way they have with the static analysis etc.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    mdriftmeyer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #7
    LLVM/Clang 3.3 will be a big update to LLDB, C11, C++11, ObjC [ARC and more] OpenCL, OpenGL and a complete advancement in design modularity.

    Both NVPTX [Nvidia] and R600 [AMD GPGPUs] targets and lots of OpenCL work. Not to mention OpenMP support and ARM64 amongst other target additions.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    yehudah72

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    #8


    Hey Bro, I understand your frustration, but Apple does have other tasks on hand... give 'em some luv!!!






    Love & Peace,
    yehudah
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Being able to inspect dictionaries and arrays using the debugger is functionality that a developer would expect to exist.
     
  10. macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #10
    It did. You people didn't know about Right-Click->Inspect ?

    Worked fine, just a bit less visual than the new functionality.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Into the lungs of Hell
    #11
    I totally agree. It's beyond me why they didn't do it with Xcode 3 itself.
     
  12. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #12
    It is usually not the compiler. Your project is probably an old GCC project, which has visible or invisible settings, which are incompatible with other compilers, such as Clang.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Saladinos

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #13
    Hopefully bracket autocomplete is fixed.

    Why does it insist on inserting a ')' after every '(', even if there's an unclosed ')' already? God that drives me nuts!
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    #14
    WooHoo! 2001 here we come!
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Saladinos

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #15
    Bracket completion hasn't been fixed. Also the dictionary inspector doesn't support CFDictionaryRef or CFMutableDictionaryRef objects :sigh:

    You can work around it by telling it to display as an NSDictionary, but that's not really a solution.
     
  16. shurcooL, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #16
    Awesome news, the latest Xcode is quite good. And clang has the best C++11 support to date, much better than MSVC 2012.

    Here are the changes from 4.5.2 to 4.6:

    Code:
    $ xcrun clang --version
    Apple clang version 4.1 (tags/Apple/clang-421.11.66) (based on LLVM 3.1svn)
    Target: x86_64-apple-darwin12.2.0
    Thread model: posix
    $ xcrun clang --version
    Apple LLVM version 4.2 (clang-425.0.24) (based on LLVM 3.2svn)
    Target: x86_64-apple-darwin12.2.0
    Thread model: posix
    Code:
    $ xcrun git --version
    git version 1.7.10.2 (Apple Git-33)
    $ xcrun git --version
    git version 1.7.12.4 (Apple Git-37)
     
  17. macrumors demi-god

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #17
    I didn't touched XCode recently too much. Anyone has a hint for me if the wireless deployment meanwhile is back ? I found the idea of XCode 4.2 to wireless manage devices nice; less dealing with cables. It got removed in 4.3 but never showed up again. Was there any statement from Apple ? Just curious ...
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    TouchMint.com

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #18
    Thats just xcode playing games it likes to have fun too!
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    ConCat

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    In an ethereal plane of existence.
    #19
    Apple generally prefers you work with Objective-C style objects. Core Foundation is just there to enhance C compatibility... They haven't even given Core Foundation ARC yet. It's a bit of a second-class citizen in general.
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #20
    *Had* to update to 4.6 after updating my iP5 to 6.1 (of course, right in the middle of something), then XC terminated trying to startup after the install, finally got it sorted out, got my 6.1 deployment target up and running again. Fixed some munged up tablecells too (just the visual layout in storyboard).
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    notarysojac

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    #21
    Hi Saladinos...

    Not sure your point of complaint ever was a behavior - meaning PARENS '(' were auto-balanced.

    It's always been the BRACES '{' and BRACKETS '[' which were the added characters, depending on preferences settings as per auto-completion.

    Just saying...
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #22
    Well, here's one very obvious bug that's still not fixed:

    Press Cmd+F to open a find dialog, type some query that gets lots of results, press Enter to select next result, it works fine, but Shift+Enter has a problem - it goes to previous entry, then to next one, effectively looping in place.

    On the other hand, Cmd+G and Cmd+Shift+G work fine without the bug.
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    Saladinos

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #23
    Yeah but C compatibility is kind of important. Also, unless you're targeting iOS6 (and NSMapTable, which I'm unsure if this new inspector will detail), it's the only way to get a dictionary that doesn't copy its keys or retain its values.

    As for bracket autocompletion, the problem is this:

    4 + 3

    4 + 3 )

    (4 + 3 ) now press space...

    ( )4 + 3 ) why does XCode insert this bracket?!

    I like the bracket autocompletion in general, but this one thing just annoys the hell out of me. There's nothing to complete here, the brackets are already closed.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #24
    Ya, those brackets are really weird.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    ConCat

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    In an ethereal plane of existence.
    #25
    I've noticed this quite often too. Sometimes the I realize I need to enclose something in brackets after it's been typed, so I put the end bracket first since i'm already at the end, then go to the beginning, and magically that extraneous bracket appears. Ah well, it's clearly a very simple logic error that would take all of five seconds to fix, they just have to do it...
     

Share This Page