XCode export java

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by ebouwman, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    ebouwman

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I'm wondering, with XCode, is there a way to export a java app file as a single file, so that i can open it without going into XCode and telling it to build and run.

    Theres a file ending in ".app" so i thought that this was the file that i needed but when i run it it just opens then shuts right away without doing anything.

    Can i export from xcode or do i need another program to do that?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #2
    What sort of Java app is it, tool, Swing or AWT?

    I just did a test and built the AWT default project of Xcode. It produced a .app file which runs outside of Xcode with a double click.

    b e n
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ebouwman

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    It's AWT but the .app it makes doesn't run outside of XCode.
    I can open the file but all that happens is that the coffee cup icon apears in the dock stays for a sec, then disapears, it doesn't run the app that i made.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #4
    I'm not sure what the problem could be. Have you tried compiling the default AWT application and seeing if that works?

    You can also try running your program from a terminal window. You never know, perhaps it will spit out some error message. To do this use the 'open' command, eg:-

    open test.app

    b e n
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ebouwman

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    yes i compiled it and tried many times, doens't seem to work.
    I tried using terminal to open it but i get the same thing where the coffee cup apears in the dock then quickly dissapears
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ebouwman

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    i also tried copying and pasting the code into a new AWT app of the same name but i get the same problem from that app.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #7
    Perhaps it's worth looking in the system console (in Utils) for any error messages. If you put a link to download your app I can try running it on my system. I guess that might help narrow down the problem. I don't know what else to suggest, I'm out of my depth now!

    b e n
     

Share This Page