XCode first-time config wizard - how can I run it again?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by donaldGuy, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #1
    Hey

    I recently purchased a black MacBook (my first Mac:) ) and since I already had experience in C++, Java, and some OpenGL that I'd try some Mac programming..

    I installed the Developer Tools from the OSX cd and opened up Xcode..
    It popped up a configuration wizard type thing, but since it was late and I didn't want to think I hit cancel, I expected that it would be like Mail and exit and restart this wizard the next time I opened Xcode.. but instead it just left me with an empty screen with an Xcode taskbar..

    Now, I realize all these options are assumably available from the prefrences menu, but I don't know what they are.. I figured it would just be easier to run this Wizard again. I looked around but I couldn't find that option.

    My next thought was to reinstall the Developer Tools so I ran the /Developer/Tools/uninstall-devtools.pl (as root) and reinstalled from the CD. Nevertheless, when I opened Xcode I was once again not given the wizard I had previously seen. Next I thought there must be some latent config files laying around so I ran a spotlight search and found the /Library/Application Support/Apple/Developer Tools folder.. I sent it to Trash and tried to open Xcode again, still no Wizard. I emptied Trash, still none. With these files removed (Which I figured was probably a bad thing) I re-un-installed the Developer Tools. I verified at this poin that a Spotlight search for Xcode returned nothing apparently useful. I reinstalled, reran Xcode, still no wizard!

    I googled, searched ADC and didn't turn up anything..

    so, what am I missing, how do I rerun that Wizard? (short of reinstalling OSX)

    Thanks in Advace,
    ~Donald Guy
     
  2. Administrator

    HexMonkey

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Delete ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Xcode.plist and it should show it again.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    If you saw what I think you saw, it's just the new project dialog(s). Going to File->New Project (or cmd-shift-N) will bring it up again.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #4
    HexMonkey was right.

    and no it was a "New User" wizard, not the "New Project" dialog

    it endend up being kinda useless... oh well, Thanks anyway
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    HexMonkey is usually right. He's helped me out more than once. Glad to hear that you figured it out.
     

Share This Page