Xgrid and folding?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Selecter, Jan 6, 2004.

1. Selecter macrumors member

Does anyone understand if the new Xgrid can be used for folding? Or can it? I downloaded it but I only have my 1 G5 here so not much use ( for now ). Do you think Stanford will set something up for Xgrid and folding?

2. GovornorPhatt macrumors regular

I am new to xGrid but I talked to someone at macworld today who said that the text based client could work. You need to set up a plugin with xgrid and fill in the blanks? I was wondering the same thing. I still dont have a clue of how to do that.

3. maradong macrumors 65816

maradong

I m not sure it will work.
    I mean basically the folding client is running a core, and it has got to have the result of the "frame" before, to be able to calculate the next one(s).
    I don't see how xgrid should help. As far as I know, a frame can't be devided. It s the same problem as using a second cpu for the calculation.
    If you get it to work however, i d be pretty interested. As you only have to install one client and have it configured, and the other mac s are helping to crunch as soon as they are switched on :)

4. Selecter thread starter macrumors member

I asked the head guy at folding this and he said that it has been "discussed internally", whatever that means. it would have to have a client set up to recieve a WU and then either break it into chunks for all the CPU's to eat off of or they could set it up so that xgrid could automatically WU to cpus in the grid on at the time. I dont know the best way to handle it, but I do know it's valuable tool that *should* be exploited to good use by folding.

Yes, this can be done on other platforms with endless tinkering and investment but xgrid could be done by any mac user with a few macs around the house or in college labs, etc. So it should be supported by Stanford.

5. mc68k macrumors 68000

mc68k