XGrid with Folding@Home?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by MacAztec, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #1
    Could I use Apple's XGrid program on all my macs inside my house, and have them all work on one F@H unit? Is that possible? That would be sick.
     
  2. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
  3. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #3
    -MacAztec

    Sure it would work.

    Problem: How to configure?
     
  4. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #4
    I don't know how to use XGrid, but you can install XGrid on all available computers, have one host computer, and it will take all the other computers processing power. Then, you install F@H on the host and use it maybe?
     
  5. Selecter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #5
    I dont know but it needs to be exploited if at all possible. I only have my one G5 as of now so there's no point in me trying to test anything. I think the client app as to be written to take advantage of xgrid. I know they have discussed it at Pandegroup but thats all they will come clean with. (for now)

    As I told him I would be willing to pay a small amount for a xgrid enabled client no problem, but thats just me. It makes sense for the project I think -
     
  6. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #6
    How would that be any better then just running a folding client on each machine?
     

Share This Page