XP not updating.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SFVCyclone, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #1
    So I installed parallels with xp. When I go to update windows I get the genuines windows validation and it does NOT pass even though it is a real copy with a real serial number from the package. Any one else had this problem and/or how they went about it?
     
  2. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #2
    Had it been installed on another computer before this one?
     
  3. SFVCyclone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #3
    As far as I know it has not. Its on a machine at work, and my manager gave me the cd, it can be possible, but he said this copy was for this machine I'm using, and he said he got around it before also, Had to go to some website or something, BUT since its thanksgiving, he left early.
     
  4. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #4
    sounds like it might still be installed on that work machine. best get it wiped clean or buy your own copy.
     
  5. SFVCyclone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #5
    Work machine as in this mac pro, this copy of windows is specifically for parallels on this mac pro. Everything is legit, but some how according to microsoft its not.:(
     
  6. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #6
    There have been various discussions on MR about people having problems with the Windows validation system. Apparently it is a very flawed system that is not reliable. I don't have time to look for them now (thanksgiving you know ;) ), but the only think I can think of is to call Microsoft. There should be a phone number provided when the validation does not go through and explain to them the problem. I've had to do this with MS Office and have had no problems.
     

Share This Page