XP OEM with SP2 giving telling me No Installer CD was found

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mgworek, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. mgworek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #1
    any idea's? New OEM disk, with SP2, never opened until today.

    Thanx.
     
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2

    Does the disk say "upgrade" or is it a full version.
     
  3. mgworek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #3
    It is a full version.
     
  4. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    What kind of Mac do you have?
    What version of OS X are you using?
    Are you following Apple's instructions exactly ?
     
  5. mgworek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #5
    macbook pro 2.0 with gig of ram
    osx 10.4.6 with the firmware from last week.
    Following instructions as far as I can see.

    I just did a fresh start of bootcamp and it still wont work.

    My windows disk is Windows XP Pro, included service pack 2. OEM
     
  6. Dobber01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #6
    Log into an administator account then rerun bootcamp. Worked for me.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Is the error coming from Boot Camp, or from the Windows installer, or somewhere else?
     
  8. mgworek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #8
    that did it. i feel like a dork. I am still getting used to not being a admin on my own machine, that i never thought about that.
     
  9. owno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #9
    I've got no luck

    Hi,

    I'm having the same problem ! I did everything you guys said, but I'm still getting the "No intaller cd was found" message !!

    Any Suggestions ?

    Thanks !!!
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    If the error is coming from Boot Camp and you're still in OS X, just reboot your Mac, hold down the Option key and (assuming you have a bootable CD) you should be able to boot from it at that point.

    You don't need Boot Camp to install Windows after you have partitioned the drive and installed the firmware update (if necessary).

    B
     

Share This Page