XP Without Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by masreipan, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #1
    [​IMG]
    Connecting to ghost session.


    [​IMG]
    Start the session.


    [​IMG]
    Starting.


    [​IMG]
    All Done!

    [​IMG]
    EFI is working, looking good.


    [​IMG]
    I see a Boot CD and a Windows Disk!


    [​IMG]
    Now I just see Windows XP!


    [​IMG]
    TA DAAAAAAAA!


    The video of the reboot is on youtube :)

    MAS
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    So you pretty much just got rid of OSX? Smooth move...
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #3
    No, sorry. You're still using BIOS emulation (which is an element of the "Boot Camp" that most people are referring to when they say the phrase) if you're running XP on a Mac. All you've accomplished with this convoluted method is to wipe out your OSX partition and replace it with a single XP partition. Avoiding use of the Boot Camp Assistant does not equate to not using Boot Camp.

    Hope you've got a drivers CD.

    Question for you, though...what's the screen with the lock and input box that you have a screenshot of during bootup? My first guess is that's its a dialog for an EFI password, and if it is, I'd be delighted to know how you set that up. Most tips refer to the Firmware Password Utility on the OSX Install Disc which, sadly, doesn't do what yours is displaying (at least in my tries).
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    DaftUnion

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    Why buy a Mac if you're just going to use only windows on it. Just buy a cheap pc.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    As has been said a million times already. Bootcamp is nothing more than a program that contains drivers and allows you to partition the hard drive. Thats all it does.
     
  6. Aea
    macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #6
    And it emulates BIOS...
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #7
    The thing is...

    I know may Mac Zealots are asking why on earth I would do this to begin with? Let me answer that question first, the customer PAID me to do it!

    Now to the underlying;

    When imaging the IMac through NetRestore or Apple's ASR. If your windows image is 30 gig and then your OSX install is 20 gig then you have to xfer all 50gig when imaging. Notice the 7 gig total image size on these images. This is my production version of a Windows XP image that will serve 2500 users + a day in my environment.

    This install (Ghost) has two partitions both native to the PC environment, no OSX partition period. I never said I wasn't using the proper hardware drivers :)

    The 30 min image time is SWEET! Which is really all I was after.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #8
    Because I can run any OS I want to on my Imac :p
     
  9. TBi
    macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    Nope. The BIOS emulation comes from an update in the EFI firmware that was released at the same time as bootcamp. It comes as default with all new macs.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #10
    Technically, it doesn't. However, when most people (read: less-than highly technical users) refer to "Boot Camp", they're actually referring to the BIOS emulation that was introduced to Intel Macs firmware a while back. Its not actually correct, but you have to be aware of what people mean when they say "Boot Camp." In actuality, Boot Camp is just a small OSX utility to nondestructively repartition your drive (just a frontend for diskutil) and burn you a copy of the Boot Camp Drivers CD, the 2nd part of Boot Camp.

    So, technically, he got XP running "without Boot Camp." That's not all that much of an accomplishment, though, because all Boot Camp does resize your OSX partition and create a new partition for Windows (which he neglected to do). Of course, it's a bit useless -- unless he actually did use Boot Camp, he won't have all the Mac hardware drivers to use in XP. Seems like a pointless venture to me.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #11
    My apologies for resurrecting such an old thread, but I just installed XP without using BootCamp (I booted from the CD to install, which very well may have been a mistake). Now I'm curious as to how I can get the necessary drivers? Can I use a different computer to download the drivers and burn to a disc? Obviously I cannot get online with the Mac, wired or wireless, since I don't have the right drivers.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #12
    They are on the Leopard disc. Just install them from that in Windows.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #13
    Just get Parallels, in my opinion its much better, it runs slower but you dont have to reboot your computer to run windows programs. you can also dl windows 7 for free still.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #14
    Rodus, I will give that a shot. Thank you.

    iphone, unfortunately that is not the best option for me. The kind of software development I do requires a quick machine. I've tried Parallels before, and it was just to slow for my needs.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #15
    Rodus,

    Does the CD needs to be run at boot? With the OS up and running, it just spits the disc back out.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #16
    No. Start up Windows and throw the disk in. If auto run doesn't start the disk up, go into "My Computer" and double click on the DVD drive.
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #17

    I can't seem to find the part in his original post where he said he was only going to run Windows on it. Perhaps you could point it out?


    It's also more expensive. And how long does it take you to reboot your computer? All of 30 seconds?
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #18
    It does neither. The drive just spits the disc back out at me.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #19
    Thanks guys, everything works great! Appreciate the help very much!

    Chris
     

Share This Page