Xserve as home pc?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jessearl, May 21, 2005.

  1. jessearl
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #1
    Not knowing anything about servers, is it possible to run an Xserve as your home computer? Would there be any benefit to doing this? Would the speed of a server allow such a computer to have a longer anticipated life-span than the average three years for most computers?
     
  2. Capt Underpants
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    I'd just get a powermac. They're pretty much as fast as xserves. I don't know about the xserve, but many servers are REALLY loud, which would be bad for home use.
     
  3. Platform
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #3
    Well the Xserev can have ECC memory.....can be sold with 16gig's of RAM from Apple...Two ethernet ports....1.2TB sorage...Rack mount :rolleyes: ;)
     
  4. 173080
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    #4
    I have an Xserve G5. I would never consider using it as a home computer, its VERY loud. A PowerMac G5 is a much better option. :)
     
  5. Platform
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #5
    What do you use it for :confused:
     
  6. PlaceofDis
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #6
    to the original poster:

    macs have a much longer lifespan than most pcs as it is, 4-6 years on average i would say.
     
  7. Benjamindaines
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #7
    I had a Quadra 610 running in perfect condition for 12 years
     
  8. slipper
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #8
    yes you can use the xserve but i know you need to install a video card. i dont know if a sound card needs to be installed also.
     
  9. Church
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Church

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #9
    Performa 6115CD still works, only reason it's in it's box is because everyone in the house upgraded, and it's not really equipped to go onto high speed internet very well.... :(
     
  10. 173080
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    #10
    Managing internal VoIP communications and as a storage server. ;)
     
  11. Mord
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    dont, the xserve can only use a pci gfx card, the cpu is slower and it costs more, and it's louder.
     
  12. chv400
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    The XServe is a server not a home computer although it could be used as one I wouldnt reccomend it. The one at my school is as big as a coffe table although it is very thing it was meant to be stacked and put in some closet and be accesed not used. A powermac will be much more fendly to your desk space than a Xserve.
     
  13. SpaceMagic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #13
    Well I was thinking of having 18 Xserves in rack so I can run SETI :p

    hehe

    No, seriously the g4 xserves were mind bogglingly loud. The G5 xserves aren't quite so loud but I certainly wouldn't recommend them for home use simply because your paying for server technologies (ecc ram, diagnostics systems, etc) which you wouldn't need.
     
  14. javiercr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    javiercr

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #14
    no graphics

    Last time i checked the xserve came with no graphics card or just a ATI RV100 64 MB RAM VGA/PCI graphics card (No AGP or PCI-e) with a VGA connector (not DVI)
     
  15. superbovine
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #15
    if you have to ask you shouldn't do it.
     
  16. MoparShaha
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #16
    As others have said, Xserves are HUGE, LOUD, and don't come with sound cards. I had one sitting around for a few weeks (I was setting it up for a school), and it was not pleasant using it on my desk.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. 5300cs
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #17
    I have one, too; the original 1Ghz model. DON'T use it as a desktop computer, it's WAY too loud. :(
     

Share This Page