Xserve as home pc?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jessearl, May 21, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #1
    Not knowing anything about servers, is it possible to run an Xserve as your home computer? Would there be any benefit to doing this? Would the speed of a server allow such a computer to have a longer anticipated life-span than the average three years for most computers?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    I'd just get a powermac. They're pretty much as fast as xserves. I don't know about the xserve, but many servers are REALLY loud, which would be bad for home use.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #3
    Well the Xserev can have ECC memory.....can be sold with 16gig's of RAM from Apple...Two ethernet ports....1.2TB sorage...Rack mount :rolleyes: ;)
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    #4
    I have an Xserve G5. I would never consider using it as a home computer, its VERY loud. A PowerMac G5 is a much better option. :)
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #5
    What do you use it for :confused:
     
  6. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #6
    to the original poster:

    macs have a much longer lifespan than most pcs as it is, 4-6 years on average i would say.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #7
    I had a Quadra 610 running in perfect condition for 12 years
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #8
    yes you can use the xserve but i know you need to install a video card. i dont know if a sound card needs to be installed also.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Church

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #9
    Performa 6115CD still works, only reason it's in it's box is because everyone in the house upgraded, and it's not really equipped to go onto high speed internet very well.... :(
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    #10
    Managing internal VoIP communications and as a storage server. ;)
     
  11. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #11
    dont, the xserve can only use a pci gfx card, the cpu is slower and it costs more, and it's louder.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    The XServe is a server not a home computer although it could be used as one I wouldnt reccomend it. The one at my school is as big as a coffe table although it is very thing it was meant to be stacked and put in some closet and be accesed not used. A powermac will be much more fendly to your desk space than a Xserve.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #13
    Well I was thinking of having 18 Xserves in rack so I can run SETI :p

    hehe

    No, seriously the g4 xserves were mind bogglingly loud. The G5 xserves aren't quite so loud but I certainly wouldn't recommend them for home use simply because your paying for server technologies (ecc ram, diagnostics systems, etc) which you wouldn't need.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    javiercr

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #14
    no graphics

    Last time i checked the xserve came with no graphics card or just a ATI RV100 64 MB RAM VGA/PCI graphics card (No AGP or PCI-e) with a VGA connector (not DVI)
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #15
    if you have to ask you shouldn't do it.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #16
    As others have said, Xserves are HUGE, LOUD, and don't come with sound cards. I had one sitting around for a few weeks (I was setting it up for a school), and it was not pleasant using it on my desk.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #17
    I have one, too; the original 1Ghz model. DON'T use it as a desktop computer, it's WAY too loud. :(
     

Share This Page