Yahoo's new 9 site... instant crash

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by brbubba, Jul 17, 2006.

  1. brbubba macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #1
    Go to http://9.yahoo.com then tell me how fast Safari and Firefox crash. This is nuts.
     
  2. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #2
    How long should I sit here with it open for...
     
  3. brbubba thread starter macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #3
    Whaaaaat? Its a few second crash for me. Whats going on here.
     
  4. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #4
    Tried both browsers, no problems. Sorry I have no advice for what to do. I can only test it for you.
     
  5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    Crashes Safari (V 2.0.4 (419.3)) for me. As far as I know, there isn't much you can do.

    If you report the problem to Yahoo and Apple, hopefully it will be fixed.
     
  6. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #6
    Didn't crash Safari here... the first time. But I clicked the link again just cuz... and BAM!

    There's definitely something funky about that site.
     
  7. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #7
    I've tried about 5 times now on Safari 2.0.4 (419.3) and nothing funny as happened. Page loads very fast too.
     
  8. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    Tried once with safari.

    No crash.

    I'm not going to keep trying though.
     
  9. VanNess macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Reinstall Flash, and if you are using an Intel-based Mac, make sure you are installing the correct Intel-compatible version for the Mac.

    The best way to reinstall Flash is to run the Adobe's Flash uninstaller first, then run the Flash installer. Then repair permissions with Disk Utility because Adobe's installer fouls up Flash's permissions settings. (Not to a the degree where Flash won't run, it will, but you will see plenty of permission corrections pertaining to Flash when you repair permissions.)
     
  10. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    I stand corrected. It can be fixed. After taking those steps above, everything works fine.
     
  11. brbubba thread starter macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #11
    Nice get! Worked for me.
     

Share This Page