YAY! My Quad has arrived ... any optimize speed suggestions?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by AznBboy58, Nov 19, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    #1
    YAY! I got a call from my local Apple Store today and they are holding their first Quad that they recieved for me to pick up tomorrow!

    Now that its here, I want to know if you guys have any suggestions on optimizing its performance to the max! I have the machine with the following specs so far:

    PowerMac Quad 2.5 G5
    2.5GB DDR2-SDRAM
    10,000RPM RAPTOR 74GB SATA DRIVE (boot drive)
    7200RPM HITACHI DESKSTAR 500GB SATA2 DRIVE (scratch disk/storage drive)
    Nvidia 6600 SE 256MB graphics card
    30" Apple Cinema Display

    I am going to order another 2GB of RAM and upgrade the graphics card to whatever comes out as a kit that is most powerful. Are there any other suggestions to help optimize the speed performance of this machine?

    I'll be using it for Final Cut Studio stuff mainly ...

    I'll get up pics when I can :p
     
  2. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    You've got a dream setup as it is. Get as much RAM as you can afford ;)
     
  3. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    "How do I speed up my Quad with 4 gigs of RAM and a 10,000 rpm Raptor?"

    Christ, that's a stupid question. :rolleyes:

    And how did you get it with options that aren't even available CTO?
     
  4. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Sort of a stupid question, but hey, he's a noobie we all learn :).

    Refer to the Mac Helping Guide in my signature for extra help :)
     
  5. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
  6. macrumors regular

    fklehman

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #6
    If you want it to move REALLY fast, you could load it into your car and do whatever the car will do. Or you could throw it out the window of a tall building, let's see, acceleration of gravity is 9.81 meters per second, you get it going real fast that way...
     
  7. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7
    I can't say that I would reccomend either of these options...the results could be less than desirable. ;) :)
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #8
    The only thing you need to do to get blazing speed from your new Quad is...

    1.) Secure the cat
    2.) Press the power button on your Quad G5
    3.) Re-secure the cat
     
  9. macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    If you run any rendering tests or benchmarking with FCS, post it. Thanks.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #10
  11. macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    this ought to do it for ya
     

    Attached Files:

  12. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    Basically, we're saying that you've got the fastest Mac out there. There isn't anything you need to do other than, ummm... use it. ;)
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    #13
    lol .. i kinda got the hint :cool:

    I guess I already did all I could to maximize its components. Just thought I'd ask ...
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    #14
    I bought all the other parts separately.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    camomac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #15
    yeah, i would really like to know this too.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    I wish Apple would include 10K RPM drives as BTO for the Power Macs.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    fklehman

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #17
    What the hell you planning to do with that thing? Bring down a UFO? Hey, you might even pull 30fps on Doom III!:D :D :D

    PS: What GPU did you get, the FireGL?
     
  18. Nuc
    macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #18
    Don't you mean meters per second squared :D couldn't resist. ;)

    Nuc
     
  19. macrumors regular

    fklehman

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #19
    Yeah, I skipped the squared in the interests of brevity...probably shouldn't have in retrospect, since most people around here are probably physics nuts.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #20
    If you get realy drunk, you might actualy feel like your quad is going faster.

    But, congrats, you got my dream computer.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    so. cal
    #21
    quad Ram question

    I will be using my Quad primarily with logic pro and i've recently heard that you shouldn't mix RAM dimm's of varying size. I'm aware of the pairing necessity but i was wondering if anyone has heard of problems with this. I recieved my quad with 4x1gb RAM and want to add some 2gb dimms down the road. Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  22. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #22
    Memory has to be added in pairs of identical dimms. Adding 2GB memory dimms won't be an issue.

    The first couple of revisions of iMac G5s performed better if they had two identical dimms in them.

    I intend on doing the same thing once 2GB dimms drop to under $300 each.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    so. cal
    #23
    cool

    Thanks for the reply, i would hate to have to sell my other soul to get all new ram and toss the 1gb dimms!:)
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #24
    The image above is great!


    OR..... if you have nerves of steel, you could gut a pair of XBox 360's
    and install 2 IBM tripple core processors. :D

    I would love to see the results of your benchmarks posted here AND
    at Tom's Hardware Guide.

    In fact you might want to check with them about the tests they'd like to see.

    Congratulations!
     
  25. macrumors 68030

    maestro55

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Goat Farm in Meridian, TX
    #25
    *drools*

    Sounds like an awesome set-up. Now you need to post a very good review, so I can email it to my ex-yearbook advisor who bought a Powerbook last march. I need to convince her to purchase a G5 Desktop because it is faster and more powerful, and then she could give me her Powerbook.. HAA!

    Anyhow, very very sweet specs on that machine. My dream mac set-up would run be about 10K and sure enough this would be my work horse :)
     

Share This Page