Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Yakamoto

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 14, 2006
Planet Earth
Just got myself a new Nikon D40, last night. Still trying to learn it though.
I refuse to shoot in auto (idiot mode):) But it's nice to have when my wife needs to use it. So far I'm really impressed by the quality of the shots, of course I'm comming from a point and shoot so that might be the reason.
I was torn between the D50 or the D40 but it was Dpreview, and some user
reviews on Fredmiranda.com that put the D40 over the edge (at least for me)
As of now I just have the kit lens, but I'll be getting an AF-S 55-200 soon.
The lack of lens (primes) was a let down, but I'm really no pro, so I see no need to have them. (Yet).
Hopefully, I can get some pics up on the P.O.T.D thread soon.

If you're a D50 fan please don't thrash me :D This camera is serving two masters.

beloved84

macrumors regular
Jun 1, 2006
i was holding the d40 today, i gotta say, its light, small, and the LCD screen is HUGE! i want one.

miloblithe

macrumors 68020
Nov 14, 2003
Washington, DC
The lack of lens (primes) was a let down, but I'm really no pro, so I see no need to have them. (Yet).

Just had to check. You probably already knew, but Nikon has primes at 300, 400, 500, and 600mm that are AF-S. :)

More importantly, Nikon seems committed to the idea, so you'll probably see a lot more AF-S lenses in the future. If you don't have old lenses around that you wanted to use, I don't think the lack of the motor is a huge obstacle.

Yakamoto

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 14, 2006
Planet Earth
Just had to check. You probably already knew, but Nikon has primes at 300, 400, 500, and 600mm that are AF-S. :)