(yet another) Future iBook buyer with questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Feio, Aug 4, 2005.

1. Feio macrumors newbie

I am planning on ordering a 12 incher tonight. I know there are a lot of threads concerning the new iBook out there already, but none of them really answer my own questions, so ... well, here we go.

1. I plan on using the student union promo to buy a 20gig iPod as well. Will I definitely need to upgrade the HD space? Is there any way to use the iPod as a sort of portable music drive, instead of having to sync automatically to the computer, which will mean that up to 20g will be used to store my music... ? I don't need to keep all my music in two places, if I can just plug my iPod and play music off of it. If that isn't possible, how much space is enough? I don't much (any) video work, so I don't need masses of space, but I'm a music student, and do have masses of music.

2. It seems obvious to me that ordering RAM from Apple is so expensive, it's silly. People round here have recommended Crucial, but I'm from Canada. Of course I know Crucial will ship here, but can anybody recommend some cheap Canadian RAM dealers, so I can save on shipping + taxes?

3. I've been thinking of getting a foofbag (www.foofbag.com) as a laptop sleeve. Does anybody have any experiences with these? Or, alternatively, does anybody know of a similar sleeve manufacturer that makes wacky/interesting-looking sleeves? (I'm not keen on buying something plain and black.)