(Yet another) Potential Switcher

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Tetra, Jan 14, 2004.

1. Tetra macrumors newbie

Jan 14, 2004
    Hey guys.

Just looking for some advice here. Anyways, I've been eyeing the Mac laptops for some time now. I'm a college student, major undecided as of yet, so main usages will be Word Processing/Web Browsing/Powerpoints, etc. The basics, really. I'm also an avid photoshopper, and would like to be able to pull that off with some speed. I was originally looking at the iBook 12", fully upgraded, but I'm worried that it simply won't last the length of time I need it to.

Gaming is handled on my p4 2.66 just fine, so thats not a real concern either

I've a budget of about $1600, which would be going through the student discount site. Buying immediatly *isn't* necessary, as I've been somehow coping with a Compaq P3 450 with 192mb. First system I was on was an Apple IIc, and from then on, it was x86. Back to my roots, I guess.

2. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

Oct 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    Hi There,

I was similar to you when I got my first Mac about 3 years ago. Same budget and requirements, though I did more game (StarCraft) than Photoshop. iPhoto has done me just fine.

I got the 12 for portability and the iBook for durability. It's been in a mountain bike crash while commuting to school and no problem. It's got a hard shell and I think I read somewhere that the interior is somehow mounted on rubber feet to help absorb shock.

You can see my Mac's specs on my "signature" below. It's still goin' strong and I'm happy with it, though coveting the 15in PowerBook.

The only thing I did was max out the ram from crucial.com and installed it myself, piece of cake. There are instructions at Apple's "Knowledge Base" website.

If durabiltiy isn't a concern, the only thing I might suggest is try for the 12in PowerBook.

Happy Shopping!
  3. Tetra thread starter macrumors newbie

Jan 14, 2004