Yet another wireless network question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Richard T, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. Richard T macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    First post, be kind :)

    I have had a search of current posts regarding this subject but I am still not sure and seeing as I have been put in charge of creating this wireless (and wired) network at my place of work and money will be spent, I need to make sure that I get it right, or heads will roll.

    We have currently a desktop PC running Windoze XP which is connected to the web via BT Business Broadband Single and the crappy USB modem they supply.

    I would like to have this desktop connected via hardwired ethernet and an additional Windoze XP laptop and my G4 iBook connected wirelessly. The XP laptop has a PCMCIA slot and the iBook has inbuilt Airport.

    If I go with this package http://www.netgear.co.uk/dg834gt_wireless_bundle.php will that be all I need? I appreciate that the USB modem will have to go.

    I am concerned that I tried to connect the USB modem directly to my iBook but could not get it to work. Is this a drivers problem? Also, do I need to be worried that we have BT Business Broadband Single, which according to their website is only designed to work with one computer. I have had the XP laptop working connected directly to the modem, so perhaps that answers my question.

    Thanks in advance.

    Richard
     
  2. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #2
    Mac's don't like usb connections to the net, it's all about ethernet. As for the ISP saying it only works with one computer, what they mean is they only provide one IP address, thats what a wireless network will do split up the info.

    As for the setup find a usb wireless router. Connect the modem to the wireless and establish connections with your wireless computers. If all the computer are not wireless make sure extra ethernet are on the unit for direct to direct connection. This is the cheapest option.

    That product you linked though would be easier but more expensive as it contains the modem built in.
     
  3. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #3
    I have that Netgear product, but the 54Mbps version (DG834'G', not 'GT'[108Mbps I believe]). Its a good piece of equipment, and I brought several for my friends to use on their broadband. Its one of the best wireless routers I've ever used, and being all in one its easy to set up etc. Having seperate devices "daisy-chained" (in a sense) can complicate matters at times, but does work all the same, for some-better!

    It can get confusing trying to think of how these networks will work using words. Drawing a quick diagram in paint or omnigraffle is sometimes helpful, helps you figure it out. If you do, post it here please, maybe it will make things clearer! :)

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. Richard T thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #4
    Thanks for all your help guys, I think I am getting there. Doing a diagram is a good idea, so here it is. I'm not exactly a Photoshop wizard as you can see :)

    Network Diagram
     
  5. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #5
    Thanks for the diagram...makes much more sense to me now!
    It seems a much simpler setup now. I think having just the one device to connect them all is a good idea. It just makes things a lot easier in configuration and finding a problem!
    At least you know that the firewall will work with the modem that will work with the wireless that will work with the switch etc etc...its all intergrated in the same device.
     

Share This Page