yonah and the others

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by zoran, Dec 20, 2005.

  1. zoran macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Is Yonah cosnidered to be a dual core cpu similar to ibms dualcore G5 processors? Better or worse, high end or low end?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Have you considered using the search here? Or even on Google? There is a ton of information available on Yonah these days.

    It is dual core. At 2.0Ghz it is more or less as fast as an Athlon 64-X2 at 2Ghz meaning it is probably around the same speed as a G5 clock for clock.

    Yonah Performance
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    but is it better/faster than the dual coreG5?
     
  4. NYmacAttack macrumors 6502

    NYmacAttack

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    There is no real way to know how it will stack up against the G5 as it has not been released yet only engineering sample. Be patient and we will all see how it performs.
     
  5. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #5
    Apples and oranges, I will be happy with a *portable* PowerBook that is SMP and can actually come close to a clunky Powermac that guzzles electricity like a SUV does to gasoline...

    Initial benchmarks do show the performance to be neck to neck.. I foresee the entire Powermac line going quad once these monsters start shipping.
     
  6. Morn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #6
    I expect it to be somewhere inbetween the dual core G5 2ghz and 2.3ghz in performance. Powermac level performance.
     
  7. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #7
    That fast!? My god.... it's sounds just...so....incredible....

    Gonna make my 1.2 GHz G4 look like a 386. Damn you Apple, I don't have anywhere near the money for a new system. I just hope 10.5 will run nicely on my machine when I bump it up to 1.25GB RAM.
     

Share This Page