You know you've been using a smartphone or tablet too much when...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by kylera, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #1
    You're sitting at a desktop and you hit the space bar twice at the end of a sentence, expecting a period.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #2
    You realize how terrible they are compared to a real computer. :p ;)
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #3
    You unplug your video monitor thinking it's been recharging long enough.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #4
    Depends what you're doing.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    You check for a classic/full version of a web page :p
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #6
    You try to swipe on the screen of your laptop.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #7
    I've found nothing I do that a tablet can do better than a traditional desktop/laptop. This may not be the case for a lot of people, but I used a tablet for about a month while I was waiting for a charger for my netbook. Haven't touched it since, it just makes everything I do more difficult and time consuming, or offers no advantage. I'd honestly sell the thing if it hadn't been a Christmas present.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    I agree :).

    Even with an external keyboard, most interfaces were so much more difficult to use on any Android/iOS tablet, and multitasking was so much harder to the point where what would've taken less than a minute on a desktop ends up being inconvenient and time-consuming.

    And on most tablets, upgrades are nearly impossible to do, and usually aren't an option :/.
     
  9. macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9
    It is easier to play Angry Birds on a tablet. You ever tried playing on a computer with a mouse? Damn near impossible ;)

    But I agree. For me, a tablet will never replace a computer.
     
  10. APlotdevice, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013

    macrumors 68030

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #10
    Or, similarly, tap on a screen in a store expecting it to do something... I don't think Best Buy appreciates all the fingerprints I've put on their iMacs. :(

    (Pretty much the only reason I don't do this at home is because I have an HTPC set up that places the display on the other side of the room)
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    dastinger

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #11
    When you start not remembering about stuff due to being used to just reach for your smartphone and Google away.
     
  12. macrumors G3

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the lens, UK
    #12
    I do this all the time! Especially when using iMessage on the iMac!

    When you think the game you are playing on your Mac would be easier if it had tilt control.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #13
    You expect your computer to auto correct every misspelled word...
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #14
    I believe since Lion, autocorrect became active by default.
     
  15. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #15
    Tilt2Joystick :D
     
  16. macrumors G5

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    Agreed. For me, if I want to watch a movie or play a game, a tablet is better than my laptop.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    panda bear

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #17
    Not for every app. I use Adium for AIM and Gtalk and no auto-correct. Regular AIM does do auto-correct, though.

    Yes, I still use AIM #
     

Share This Page