"You need to restart your computer"

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by twomiracles, Jan 10, 2007.

  1. twomiracles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #1
    is that normal? It just came up suddenly and told me to either hold down the power button for a few seconds or something else, can't remember what option B was...is that normal?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    That was a kernel panic. It's not normal, and it's obviously not a thing you want to see. But they do happen from time to time. If it only happens once, it's no big deal...just reboot and carry on. But make a note of what you were doing when it happened. If it happens again soon, it's time to figure out what's going on. Bad RAM is usually at the top of the list of suspects, but it can be any one of a large number of things causing it.
     
  3. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #3
    Wow, I've only had that happen once or twice in the last 8 years! It's not normal at all. That's when the computer freezes really really bad :( I just restarted and had no problem afterwards, but I don't know if there's anything else you can do
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Sounds like a Kernel Panic.

    Nothing to worry about if it is a one time occurrence, though make sure you have current backup of all your most important data (like photos, work, etc). Kernel Panics can be caused both by shady software (the official But Torrent client played havoc with my old machine a couple of years ago) or failing or poorly fastened hardware (bad RAM, loose wiring or airport antenna or similar).

    If it becomes a regular event (and you're not running any weird software like bit torrent or system hacks) it's time to take it back to the store (or, if it's out of warranty, to a service provider), and get the hardware checked out.
     
  5. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #5
    Since you just had this problem where it looked like the desktop folder wasn't behaving properly...and now this, I'm gonna recommend you rebuild permissions following the steps in this guide.

    Also...post what you were doing at the time of the kernel panic in case someone might be able to see a possible connection between the two.
     
  6. twomiracles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #6
    I honestly can't remember that I was doing anything extraordinary and it was such a shock when it happened, I just did what it said. It did ask, though, when I restarted, if I wanted to send a report and I did. I have put a few things on here, but no hacks or anything that I didn't find at download.com or versiontracker.com . I'll check out the links, TheAnswer. I did hae RAM put in it when I bought it, but it is PNY brand, which is pretty good and it's two matching sticks, so I'd hope that isn't the problem. If it happens again, though, I'll definitely be getting with the local Apple store where I bought it.

    Thanks!
     
  7. UnitedRed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #7
    had my first one earlier on, I was right in the middle of photoshop too which didn't make me too happy, luckily I had saved my work not long before
     
  8. savanahrose macrumors 6502a

    savanahrose

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    just this side of heaven, CHARLESTON SC
    #8
    I just had one the other day also. I didn't realize what it was, it didn't faze me in the least. I guess I just got used to it while using windows. I just restarted it and haven't had any more problems. Next time I will keep an eye on it.
     

Share This Page