Your take on Piracy......

Discussion in 'Community' started by idkew, Jul 26, 2002.

1. idkew macrumors 68020

idkew

where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    The Jaguar thread got me going on this one.

Do you think it is ok in some instances to pirate software?

I, for one, do. I am a design student and I use quite a few EXPENSIVE programs to learn my trade. It is not possible to do all my work on university cpu's. I pirate software and LEARN it. I do not see this as a problem. I am making no money from it.

I like to use a cigarette analogy: Philip Morris gives you all the free cigarettes you want for four years. They get you good and hooked. When you graduate college, you no longer get free ciagrettes, so you have to start paying. Sure, the price might be a bit more to make up for the lost income on the free cigarettes, but as long as Philip Morris makes a good product, you will buy it since you are hooked on it. They will more than make up for the short term loss of income in the long run.

Well, Adobe is hooking me on Photoshop, Illustartor, InDesign.... I can no where near afford these programs, but I will eventually pay for them for years when I am using them to earn a living. I see no problem in this.

So, what do you all think?:rolleyes:

2. strider42 macrumors 65816

strider42

Re: Your take on Piracy......

I personally take the opinion that I don't mind pirating if its something thats not used very often. If I need a program to do one thing, one time, I don't have a problem getting ahold of the copy to do it. If it something I used all the time, like a game or a very useful program, I feel it would be better to buy the program.

As for the college situation, I can definitley understand that. if you really don't have the money but you need to learn, then you do what you have to do. The minute you start making money with the program, people should definiltey buy it.