Your worst job

Discussion in 'Community' started by Doctor Q, Apr 5, 2004.

1. Doctor Q Administrator

Doctor Q

Staff Member

What's the worst paying job you ever had?

Mine was my first job, tending the lawn of a neighbor. I rode there on my bike, mowed the lawn, and tried to water everything. But I had no idea how much water anything required, and rather than teach me anything, they fired me for doing a bad job. Not much of a start for my resumé. Luckily, I went into computer science instead of gardening.

2. miloblithe macrumors 68020

miloblithe

When I was a freshman at Carnegie Mellon I worked in the dining service. All I did was slice various meats on a meat slicer into 2.25 oz. sandwich-size portions in four hour shifts. (Perhaps this job contributed to my decision to stop eating meat.) The job did have its highlights though, like my semi-insane coworker who never went anywhere in Pittsburgh without a large butcher's knife he had tucked into a holster beneath his armpit. He was really into martial arts too, and we had many odd conversations on the loading dock. And I used to sneak off to the bathroom for hours and read Kurt Vonnegut books.

On the downside, I did slice off a bit of my right thumb one day while slicing turkey.

3. Roger1 macrumors 65816

Roger1

miloblithe, I found your thumbpiece in my sandwich last week. Tasted like chicken. :D

Anyway, the worst job I had was working in an electroplate factory. We would take these car parts, (big, little, whatever) and have to put them on this overhead conveyer by hand. It wasn't so bad when the parts were going in, but when they were done, they were so hot they could blister your hands. They supplied gloves, but they were all torn up and worn out. Oh BTW, the job was a temp job, and I made 3.35 an hour doing it.

4. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

Funny you mention it... I cut off the tip of my left middle finger slicing potatoes in a vegetable slicer... and that wasn't even my worst job!