your WoW experiences

Discussion in 'Games' started by kilpajr, Nov 9, 2004.

1. kilpajr macrumors regular

I finally finished downloading earlier. I sat up at school on the wireless connection which let me download at 100 - 150kBps. I was only getting about 30kBps on my 3Mb DSL connection.

Anyway, I just started playing tonight. This is a very fun game once you figure things out. Here are some things I figured out (this is coming from an RPG newbie, I usually play RTS games): You can sell all of the seemingly worthless stuff you get from the creatures you kill. You need to find the trainer for your class to be able to get special abilities. You can also find people in the town to buy armor and weapons from.

I do have a few questions, though:
    1. Is there an easy way to find NPC's that you are looking for?
    2. Can you view a better map than just the one at the top right corner of the screen and the world map? I would like to see a detailed view of the town and where I am at.
    3. How do you view your frames per second? I tried using control-r, which I think someone suggested, but I did not see it.

2. Barham macrumors regular

1. Not really. Some of the bigger towns have signs that tell you where certain classes should go, but for the most part you have to find them yourself and just remember where they are.

Oh, not all towns have every type of npc. You have to go to bigger towns for crafting and such.

2. That's the only map that you get. If I recall, though, the mini map show buildings and stuff. There might be a resource like that on a website somewhere. Try googling it.

3. It is ctrl+r. Make sure you're not doing apple+r. The fps will show up right in the middle of the screen at the top of the experience bar.

I don't suggest checking your fps if you're on a Mac. It's kind of depressing. I'd just tune the settings to where you think it looks smoothest and wait for Blizzard and Apple to come together better on drivers.